Making Brown Sugar

Real Food Challenge

Ever since I saw a post about making brown sugar over at Chiot’s Run back in February 2010 I have been making my own. What a neat thing and how easy!

Adding molasses

That is one of the things I like most about the different blogs out there. Learning! Learning things that are so easy and so practical for me. Taking things to a new level, a better level, a healthier level.

combining sugar and molasses

I use brown sugar in the granola bars I make. It is so nice to make my own and eliminate one more thing I buy at the store.

Brown Sugar

We are also eating a lot more oatmeal, so the homemade brown sugar is nice to use on that too.

I am almost out of the store bought molasses. Then I will crack open a jar of pure cane syrup from South Carolina that I got from my father-in-law. I am not sure how long it had been in his cupboard before he gave it to me, and I am not even sure that I will be able to get it open, but I am going to try!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Real Food Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Making Brown Sugar

  1. Jane says:

    Just another thing the ‘store’ makes you think you have to buy. Good recipe.

  2. Just popped over to say hi after following your instructions on my blog! Thanks ever so much. Your brown sugar looks delicious, never occurred to me to make it! I must have a go xx

    • Hi Jenni, Thanks for stopping by. I am glad my “instructions” helped. I thought the same things when I saw the post on making brown sugar. Now, it is never something I will buy again, because it is so easy to make.

  3. Zonnah says:

    I sort of make my own brown sugar. when it is called for I just add that amount of plain sugar to the recipe and then poor in my molasses. One day I should just make it like you, lol.

  4. Merry says:

    Emily,
    I have always made “molasses milk” for myself, and then my children as they came along, instead of chocolate milk. The iron in the molasses helps the absorption of calcium in the milk and it just plain tastes good. Use only a teaspoon to start in 8 oz of milk and then adjust to your taste. Too much definitely is too much. My children (now teens) actually prefer this to chocolate milk! I hope you and your readers like this idea and it will help to lessen the grocery bill.
    Merry :-)

    • Merry, I have not heard of “molasses milk”. It sounds good. I couldn’t tell when the last time was I bought chocolate milk. I like the idea of trying this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

