Thanksgiving in Orlando, Florida – Day 1: Universal Studios

While many of you in the US were enjoying a relaxing Thanksgiving last weekend, I was at Disney World and Universal Studios in Orlando, Florida.

This was my first time visiting Universal Studios. It was on the top of the list for my two nieces. They couldn’t wait to see all the Harry Potter stuff and go on those rides in The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. The first ride we headed for was The Forbidden Journey.  That was a great ride! Worth the wait.

Hogsmeade

I enjoyed wandering around Hogsmead (with several 10’s of 1000’s of my closest friends.) It was packed with people and actually very hard to stay going the direction you really wanted to go. My nieces pointing every which way at all the shops they knew from the books.

Honeydukes in the village of Hogsmeade

They each got a chocolate frog from Honeydukes.

Hagrid's Cottage

I must admit, I have always like Hagrid’s Cottage. We walked right by it while standing in line for “The Flight of the Hippogriff.” My niece wanted me to take photos while on the ride. We went on this ride several times, and on the second time I found the courage to take some photos. Did I mention it is a type of roller coaster… I thought myself fairly brave to be leisurely taking photos on a roller coaster! I think I wouldn’t mind a “Hargird’s Cottage” in my back yard. A nice little place to dry herbs and mix up some of my “Hocus Pocus” remedies (I call herbal remedies/mixtures “hocus pocus”

Hogwart

We all had a great day and were very tired and ready for bed. We needed to rest up because the next two days we were spending at Disney World. I will post about our Magic Kingdom adventures in the next week.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Thanksgiving, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving in Orlando, Florida – Day 1: Universal Studios

  1. Joanna says:

    I didn’t know this place existed ! I can think of a little boy who would love it too but he would have to travel a long way to get there :)

    • Hi Joanna, Gosh, it was neat! There is also a Universal Studios in Hollywood, California. That one does not have the Harry Potter stuff. Hollywood has one planned to open in 2014 or 2015. Yes, that is a long way to travel.

  2. zonnah says:

    Wow, I had no idea this was in Florida. It looks like you had a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

