Muffins: Zucchini (courgette) – Round 1

My zucchini plants are still growing well over at my neighbors. We have had our first big cool down a few nights ago and temps have dipped into the low 30’s so I have been keeping my eye on the nighttime temps and head over there and cover them up. If there is anyway to extend the life and production of those zucchini plants, I am sure going to try.

With several zucchini on my counter at a time, I wanted to start playing with recipes. This is the first time that my neighbors have ever grown zucchini, or eaten it for that matter. I take that back, they have had zucchini bread, but that is it. So I started them out by making making muffins using a zucchini bread recipe.

First I needed to pick my recipe. Last year I did a post about making zucchini bread when I was visiting my parents. I made several loaves of zucchini bread and packed them in their freezer (and my brothers freezer too). After that baking frenzy my parents were at the cabin and gave a rather large zucchini to one of the neighbors, who in return, made zucchini bread and brought a loaf over for them. Mom my called me right away and said it was the best zucchini bread she had ever had. WHAT!? The one I made wasn’t any good? And I used Gram’s recipe!

Now that I finally have zucchini to play with, I wanted to use the recipe that our cabin neighbor used. I really didn’t compare apples to apples here. I have made up her recipe twice, (muffins each time), but I used different flours both times. Not really a fair comparison, I really should have made one batch using Gram’s recipe and one batch using the recipe from our cabin neighbor. Oh well.

The first time I used entirely whole wheat flour that I ground. I left the flour rather course when I ground it, which gave the muffins a more bran-like grainy texture, but that didn’t slow down my neighbors (or my husband) from finishing them off. Cabin Neighbor’s Zucchini Bread recipe:

  • 1 cup Oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 2 cups peeled zucchini
  • 1 cup nuts, chopped

Bake 1 hour at 325F degrees. (this is for the bread)

* I used mini-muffin pan and baked them 18 minutes. I also used a full-sized muffin pan and baked them 25 minutes. I also only filled the tins 1/2 full. Don’t be tempted to fill them more!

They turned out a lot darker than I expected, at first I thought it was the cinnamon, but quickly realized it was the whole wheat flour (I guess it was really whole-grain flour since I ground the entire hard red winter wheat berry)

Monday I will post my experiences and comparisons with Muffins: Zucchini (courgette) – Round 2.

Do you use a vitamix to grind grains? Do you adjust your recipes based on the grain you ground?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Homemade, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Muffins: Zucchini (courgette) – Round 1

  1. narf77 says:

    You are starting to get my vitamix dry globe bones twitching…they look delicious!

    • HI Fran – I am happy to be using something that I bought. I get very frustrated buying something and having it sit unused a lot of the time. I am glad I invested in the Vitamix (w/the dry goods container)

  2. Kris Sherrill says:

    Have you tried using soft white wheat for baking with? It makes things lighter and fluffier. You can also mix the white with the red. But the muffins look good. I like the whole wheat taste and the good fiber. I’ll have to try your recipe now. Thanks!

    • Hi Kris. No I have not tried using soft white wheat. So far I am just using what I have been able to find locally (or as close to home as I can at this point) My baking is pretty limited to breads and I guess the occasional muffin, that so far, what I am using works.

  3. Pingback: Muffins: Zucchini (courgette) – Round 2 | Sincerely, Emily

  4. Pingback: Zucchini “Things” « Not Dabbling In Normal

  5. Pingback: Sunday recipes: sweets « Not Dabbling In Normal

Leave a Reply

