Antique wooden tray

I surround myself with things that I grew up with and things I have inherited from family, because I like them.

Wooden Tray 1

I have mentioned that I am emotionally attached to “things.” Good or bad, emotions can be very strong. The “things” I surround myself with are things that bring back good memories and there for good emotions.

That doesn’t mean that I am not bothered by the clutter at times. It can be overwhelming, but I don’t find that it is clutter from these things from the past, it is more from other things. The counter full of experiments, dishes that need to be done, or the unfinished projects sitting around. Even things I still want to get to and do….. oh, that list goes on and on.

This is an old wooden tray from my mom’s side of the family. I don’t have any details about it, I just like it. I have it standing on a plate stand in our bedroom on top of one of the armoires where I can see it. I think it is beautiful.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Antique wooden tray

  1. narf77 says:

    It IS beautiful Emily and it looks to be hand painted. I love things that have been passed through families because they tie the past to the present and they give us a feeling of continuity, that life is going to keep going and that everything is going to be alright…a sense of hope I guess. By the way, I got my book today! I am in love with it and it compliments my kitchen style completely :). Don’t worry about clutter…clutter is a sign of you having a life. People who have immaculate houses are very suspicious to me! ;)

    • Thanks Fran. The tray is hand painted. I am so glad the book arrived and you like it. With all the produce you are starting to harvest I know you will get a lot of use out of the book. Have fun with it!!

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    That is a beautiful tray and lucky you to have it handed down to you. I love things from the past. Nancy

  3. It’s beautiful and I can see why you’re attached to it.

  4. Pingback: Clearing away a bit of stuff « Not Dabbling In Normal

Leave a Reply

