Making Taco Seasoning Mix: It’s about time!

Yup, I checked another item off my long, long, ever-growing list of things I want to do & make.  I talked about making my own taco seasoning mix back in  October, and I am finally getting around to posting about it.

Like the Italian seasoning mixture I made, it is not hard to do. So why do these things take me so long to get to make them? There is no good answer to that questions.

Taco Seasoning Mix

  • 1 tsp Coriander (from the garden)
  • 1 tsp Garlic powder or Onion Powder
  • 1 tsp Cumin
  • 1 tsp Oregano (from the garden)
  • 1-2 T Chili Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Cayenne pepper (start with less if you don’t like things hot and spicy)
  • 1 tsp Paprika
  • Salt & Pepper

Some of my herbs need to be ground (coriander & cumin) so I just thrown all the herbs into the herb-designated coffee grinder and grind it all up. The smell is divine and will instantly scream “taco seasonings!” The same thing happened when I mixed up my own curry powder. The smell is amazing, the freshness of making it yourself is amazing, and once you make your own, you will see how easy it truly is.

You can tailor this recipe to your own tastes. Add herbs, or leave other herbs out until you find what works for you. To start, you can look on the back of your favorite taco seasoning packet and see what is listed and go from there if you prefer.

The first time I made this I went a bit overboard on my cayenne pepper. We like things on the spicy side, but the Anaheim peppers I added were on the hot side so the cayenne powder that I  added really packed an additional punch.

I am always amazed at how much the Anaheims vary in heat. I have used a bag full of chopped Anaheims that have no heat at all to them and the next bag  can have quite a punch to it.

As you make your own taco seasoning mix, another thing to keep in mind is the ground meat that you use. The meat that I use is very very lean and therefore doesn’t give off any extra liquid as it cooks. If your meat does release a lot of liquid while cooking you can 1 tablespoon of cornstarch or arrowroot powder to thicken up your mixture. If your meat is lean like mine and you can always add water plus the cornstarch or arrowroot powder if you want to create a bit of a sauce with your ground meat for your tacos. It is all up to you.

Have you made your own taco seasoning mix? Please share your recipe in the comments!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Herbs, Homemade, It's About Time, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Making Taco Seasoning Mix: It’s about time!

  1. Joni Jones says:

    I just use El Pato tomato sauce after browning & degreasing my meat. Let it simmer so the meat absorbs most of the sauce. That’s the way my family likes our tacos. Yum goes on our burritos and tostados as well.

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    I tried once and it was too hot for us so threw the rest of the mix out. I should try yours with less chili powder and cayenne pepper. Nancy

    • Hi Nancy, I think it would be an easy adjustment on the seasonings to cool it down a bit. Compare the recipe that you made with the one I just made. Also, keep in mind, that what might might be slightly spicy for me is blazin’ hot for you.Try adjusting the recipe and adding a little with a little ground meat and taste test before using it on a whole pound of meat.

  3. Angela says:

    This is great! We don’t have our own taco seasoning mix, but we should. We love Mexican and all Latin American foods. Funny you mentioned the varying heat of the Anaheim peppers. We grow some Anaheims that aren’t hot at all, but we have some cherry bell peppers that range from mild to hot, all on the same plant. It’s always a surprise!

    • Hi Angela – I was amazed this year in the variation in the heat in the peppers. I had over 6 plants so I have no idea if it was one plant vs. another. Neither of us mind the heat, but when I really pile the peppers into a dish, I need to check them first and adjust the amount I put it. ha

  4. narf77 says:

    I love that TexMex flavour! Over here in Australia, we tend to think of taco’s and enchilada’s and nacho’s as “Mexican food” and most of us haven’t got a clue about how amazing Mexican food is. I have to say…if taco’s, enchilada’s and nacho’s are Mexican “junk food” I am sold! The rest of their cuisine can’t possibly be a loser! 🙂

Leave a comment