Replacement lids

You can order replacement lids for your corning-ware, Pyrex storage and baking dishes

I was at my Father-in-Laws house 2 years ago for a visit. I did a lot of cooking and freezing of different meals for his freezer and I stumbled across some lids that he had for a set of corning-ware bake-ware that I have never seen before.

Glass & plastic lid

I have only ever seen the glass lids with the handle (knob) on top. He had those, but he also had flat plastic lids that fit the same bake-ware dish for easier refrigerator storage. WOW!

I grew up with mom and Gram cooking in the CorningWare with the blue cornflowers on the side, but we only had the glass lids. Who knew (not me apparently) that there are other lids for those things.

When I got home I spent time on the computer looking and looking. I found some on Ebay, but then I found a website called World Kitchen for CorningWare, Pyrex and Corelle, but I could only find a few lids on their website, so I called and they helped me find replacement lids for most of the containers that I had. Look for the number under one of the handles or on the bottom of your CorningWare. Those are the numbers you need to match up the right size lid. I went over mine in pencil so you can see it better.

look for the number

Fast forward 2 years… I have now replaced all my plastic storage containers with glass and I have found plastic lids for most of them. World Kitchen now has about 5+ pages of replacement lids. YIPPEE!  I still had to call to cross reference a few numbers, and they were more than happy to help me. If you are interested in finding the plastic lids for some of the dishes you have, go to their website, click on “bakeware” and then “covers & lids” and that will take to the replacement lid section. If you can’t find what you are looking for, just call them.

replacement lids

replacement lids

I now have lids for my little 7 oz ramekins and an oval CorningWare baking dish I have had for 25 years. the best part about all this is that I can bake in these dishes using the glass lids and then store them in the refrigerator using the flat plastic lids and still have space to stack something else on top of it.  When I used the glass lid in the refrigerator I it took up a whole shelf and I couldn’t stack anything on top…. now I can.

Am I the only one that didn’t know about the plastic lids that fit the CorningWare?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Little things, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Replacement lids

  1. karenish says:

    What a timely post! I have warped a couple of lids and need to order more! Not to mention I have several mixing bowls that are the exact same style and size as my storage bowls, but they came without lids, which makes storage a challenge. I have to find the lid before I put anything in a bowl. Too many times I’ve had to switch bowls mid-way through because the bowl I started out with didn’t have a lid. Grrr.

    And I had never seen the plastic lids for the CorningWare casserole dishes! I’ve recently picked up a couple of “vintage” dishes without lids. This is perfect! Now I can get glass and plastic lids for them as well!

    • I was thrilled to get the plastic lids for the old corningware bakeware that I have. I am using it a lot more and and gotten rid of a few other things because of it. If you are looking for the square glass lids for corningware – you can check out your local thrift stores. Be sure to take your measurements with you and a measuring tape so you can see if anything will fit. That saved me a lot of money getting those at the thrift store. Sometimes you have to check back a few times, but eventually you will find the glass lids. Good luck. Glad this helped!

  2. Gina says:

    Enjoy all you posts, I did order lids from here a few years ago when you first told me about them. The new plastic / rubber is very hard to get on and much harder than the old ones. Have you had this trouble?

    • Hi Gina, on the round blue lids, they are a bit tight until I use them a few times, but they fit fine. I have one white one that fits one of the vintage CorningWare baking dish that doesn’t fit over the handle real well.

      I have read that it you put the lid in hot water and let it heat up, then immediately put it on your baking dish and keep it there while it cools that it will fit better. I have not tried this with the one I have an issue with. Hope that works for you. Let us all know.

  3. narf77 says:

    Clever girl! I am sure that the increased rate of customers racing to purchase these lids will make Crown Corning’s efforts to list them well worth it :)

  4. JoAn Day says:

    So happy for you for replacing your lids. Selfishly, however, all I want is to be happy with a replacement plastic lid for my 10 or 15 or so year old cranberry 3-quart oblong baking dish. I have located one for #3.99 plus $5.95 shpg, a price I would like to find beaten. Did you say you could order them?

  5. jenn says:

    do you know where or if I can find glass lids for my pyrex round storage containers? The plastic lids fall apart so quickly.

    • Jenn, I always find replacement glass lids at the thrift store. Some like .79 cents +/-. I take a measurement off the corningware I need a lid for and keep it in the notebook in my purse (along with a small measuring tape) When you measure, make sure you note with it is an inside measurement or an outside one so you get a lid that fits. I also think World Kitchen link in the blog post sells them. I always have to call to find them on the site. Hope that helps.

  6. Mary says:

    I am looking for plastic lids for my 4 oz ramekins. I love them but wouldn’t it be great to be able to cover them? Any ideas?

    • Hi Mary, thanks for stopping by. “Any ideas” you ask? YES! Call them!!! I did mention in my post that I found ramekin lids. They were a different size then the ones you mentioned, but I would call the World Kitchen (link in the post) and ask. It is worth the time if you really want lids for those ramekins.

      Consumer Care Center
      1 (800) 999-3436 (North America)
      Monday to Friday, 8am – 6pm EST

  7. pattiecleberg says:

    I am so glad I found your page!! I have been looking for lid replacements and was appalled at how much they cost then even more to ship. World Kitchen is great! Thank you.

  8. LONG says:

    Thank you for the post. It is exactly what I am looking for. I have been searching for the replacement lid for a while. Your post nailed it.

  9. Cayla says:

    Thank you so much!!! I never knew I could replace my lost lids, and did not want to get rid of my Pyrex round storage containers that I no longer have lids for. This is a much cheaper option than starting all over! Thank you!

    • Hi Cayla – Thanks for sopping by and I am so glad the post helped your. You are right, this is so much cheaper than starting over. AND one less thing in a landfill. I have found several pyrex storage containers at thrift store that are missing lids, and they are less than buying a new one even when I order the replacement lid.

  10. Elaine Prensky says:

    I looked under the “handles” of my corning ware but there are no numbers. I can’t seem to find HOW and WHERE to order the tops on your page. I would love to know as I have 3 corning ware. Thank you for your attention to this matter. They are probably a minimum of 25 years old.

Leave a Reply

