SSFC: Green Lingini

Winter is the prime time of year for greens in our garden. Lettuce! Spinach! Chard! Kale!

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

It is growing well and I am loving every minute of it.

Something green and leafy goes in to most of our meals. Lettuce salads are a given, but one way or another, the chard, spinach and kale make an appearance daily in the main dishes.

SSFC Green LinguiniIt’s funny, I don’t plan my meals around the green stuff usually, it just get added to what ever I am making. This meal was different. I planned “green linguini” all the way.  I have a ton of basil pesto in the freezer and even though I keep pulling bags and bags of peppers out of the freezer to use, there still doesn’t seem to be any space in there.

Making space in the freezer seems to be an ever-growing issue with me. How can I keep pulling things out, but there is still no space? Using some basil pesto seemed to be the answer for the day and it turned into Green Linguini. Oh, and I can add chard and kale. Green Linguini. I think Green Linguini will make a few appearances on our table throughout the green growing season here.

Leeks! I can add leeks next time! Peppers! I can add peppers another time! I can see this is going to be like the chard that landed on every plate last season (and I loved it all!)

  • Pasta – organic, not no where near local (should have made it!)
  • Kale & chard – from the garden out back
  • Basil Pesto – Made from the basil I grew this past summer.
  • Onions – frozen from onions I grew

If you click on the badge above you can see what the other participants in the Southern SOLE Food Challenge are making.

Do you think you make Green Linguini?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Homemade, Local and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SSFC: Green Lingini

  1. narf77 says:

    We don’t eat a lot of pasta but I LOVE Swiss chard steamed in a huge pile with garlic. We are steadily working our way through our summer garden and already planning our winter one as well. Veggie gardening is the bomb! :)

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Could I use frozen kale and chard? I want to make basil pesto next year and try to learn to do more of this sort of cooking. I am not good at just putting things together. Seem to need recipes and amounts! lol Nancy

    • Hi Nancy. Sure you can freeze chard and kale. I just won’t be crunchy and fresh when you pull it out of the freezer. You could chop and lightly steam or blanch before freezing, but it will still be a bit mushy when you thaw it. It could still be added to so many things, even the green linguini I made. You could also make it into a pesto with olive oil and freeze it that way too.

  3. Angela says:

    This dish looks delicious! And healthy too. I love pasta and have been meaning to make a non-tomato based pasta dish. I would absolutely make this. Fantastic that greens are growing for you!

    • Hi Angela. I love making pasta and using basil pesto. We don’t make a lot of pasta, but it sure is good with the greens and the basil pesto. Another non-tomato sauce pasta that I used to make a lot was chopped sun dried tomatoes, sliced black olives and green onions – toss it all with olive oil. YUM! Heavy on the veggies and light on the pasta.

  4. Jes says:

    I love a good pesto pasta with tons of greens–your January is much more green than mine! Love it!

  5. Pingback: SSFC: Wild Rice thing | Sincerely, Emily

  6. Pingback: I’ve got spinach on my mind « Not Dabbling In Normal

Leave a Reply

