Getting Caught up

Getting Caught Up

I had a great trip up north to Minnesota and Wisconsin and have been home one week already. Sometimes it feels like I have been home several weeks. Time can bee a funny thing. Laundry is one of those things I needed to get caught up on when I returned.

We do not own a dryer. So the laundry gets hung on the line. When we moved to South Texas about three years ago the one of the things we gave away before we moved was the gas dryer. There was no point in bringing it with us because our new house did not have gas, so we found someone who really needed a dryer and gave it to them. At that point I was drying most of our things outside anyway, so the transition wasn’t hard at all. It was amazing in the dry desert heat that some of the clothes would be dry (seriously, no joke) before I had everything hung out on the line, here things take a bit longer. When we bought our house in Texas I was thrilled that there was already posts in the ground to make a nice long clothesline. All I needed to do was buy the line and get that up and I was ready to go.  We did have create a middle brace post out of PVC  in a “T” configuration to support the long lines in the middle.

I love the fact that we don’t have to pay for electricity to dry the clothes. I am also more saving money by making our laundry detergent too. It is such an easy process and so inexpensive.

In closing, here are a few photos I took on a walk near our cabin in Wisconsin.

A walk in the woods

Beautiful color in the Tamaracks

Little Surprises along the way

Road to the cabin

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Travel, Wisconsin. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Caught up

  1. Paola says:

    Emily, congratulations on starting your blog. I love the photos of Wisconsin. Hope the cheesemaking turned out well,too. Look forward to reading your blog in the future, I’ll go and put your address in my bloglist now. Regards, Paola

    • Hi Paola, Congrats on your 200th post on your blog again. Thanks for stopped by. I had a great time in Cambridge, MN visiting my friend. We didn’t make cheese though, her culture did not set up, but we found many other things to do. Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

