What was on my plate yesterday

Yesterday was one of those days where I did a lot things, I can’t tell you what it all was, but I don’t feel like I got a lot done. One thing I needed to do was head to the grocery store. My husband had my truck and I was left with his car. As I went out there I noticed the inspection decal in the front windscreen had expired, so now that would be my first stop. As I drove into the bay for the inspection the man started to look at the windshield wipers. I said “oh, no, don’t look at those, I need to replace them, they are really bad.” and he says, “that’s part of the inspection. You can’t pass without a working pair of windshield wipers.”

Well, let’s back track a bit……1-2 months ago, the last time I used my husbands car, I had the oil changed. The blades where half-way striped then so I got a pair of new blades for him. Why I didn’t put them on is where I went wrong, but they were in his car for him to do it (yup, still sitting there).

So, back to the inspection station. I told the man the wiper blades were in the car somewhere and he told me he would put them on. Then he started asking me to turn head lights on and blinkers,  etc.  I hit the wipers instead of the blinkers. Got out of the car to go in the back and look for the blades – locked, so back in the car to unlock it. I just felt like it was one thing after another just slightly “off”, like I was out of balance. I am glad to report the rest of the day was not like that.

On my recent trip Minnesota I visited a friend up near Cambridge. We were going to make cheese but her culture did not set up, so instead we did other things around her farm. One of things was harvesting many things from the garden. They had already had their first frost so all the tomato plants were laying on the ground. I was amazed at how many large green tomatoes there were out there, and as we moved things around there were piles of red ripe tomatoes protected under all the plants. We moved bucket after bucket of red and green tomatoes into her porch and I came home with no less than 40 lbs of green tomatoes with the intention of making green tomato chutney (if anyone out there has a good recipe, let me know). I still have plans to make the chutney, but I needed to work on the ones that had ripened. Since we have a house full of guests I decided to make spaghetti sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

For me, the easiest way was to cut the tomatoes up and puree them in the blender. As it cooked I added many dried herbs from the garden,  onions from the garden, some ground sausage too. My neighbor gave me some red bell peppers so those also were added. It simmered away on the stove all day making the house smell wonderful. In the end, the guys all liked it and we even have left-over sauce for another meal later (I will freeze it until then).

I was able to pick lettuce for our salad last night. The lettuce is coming along very well out in the garden. We had our first freeze a week ago (about a month early I might add) and I wasn’t prepared for it, so it wiped out most of the tender things that were still growing out there. That made for one very sad girl because the garden was growing really well. There are a few things that may still make it, but we had a freeze again last night (things covered) so time will tell. Instead of crying over frozen dead vegetable plants, I decided to make the most of it and head to a local nursery and buy more fall/winter veggies to put it. If all grows well, we will be rolling in broccoli, cauliflower and cabbage this winter.

Freshly picked Lettuce (if you look closely you can see a little "surprise")

Ok, back to the lettuce. I picked a nice bucket of lettuce and made up some salad dressing. Something simple. Lemon juice, rice wine vinegar, chopped cilantro, pepper and a bit of sugar to tone it down. I have been making salad dressing more consistently for several years, it is just over the past year that I have decided to stop buying bottled dressing all together. Making the dressing is easy, so I just make up what we need for a few days and it will last in the refrigerator. I do not tend to measure things, so I don’t have a “recipe” for what I made last night, but I did find a recipe that is similar. It is from The Complete Book of Dressing by Paulette Mitchell (1995).

Homemade Salad Dressing w/Lemon Juice & Cilantro

Cilantro Vinaigrette
makes 1/2 cup

  • 3 T oil
  • 3 T red wine vinegar
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 1/2 jalapeno (remove ribs & seeds) chop coarsely
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • pinch cumin
  • dash salt
  • 1 tsp minced cilantro

Place all ingredients in blend (except cilantro) and blend until smooth
stir in the cilantro and whisk all together
Will keep 2 days in fridge

If you go back and look closely at the photo of the lettuce you will see a furry, crawly critter that made its way into the house. I had to laugh because I had just read a post over at Chiot’s Run called “Free Protein” and here it is Free Protein.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Herbs, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What was on my plate yesterday

  1. Pingback: Homemade Ranch Dressing | Sincerely, Emily

  2. Pingback: Dark Days Meal: Week 7 – Ribeye Steak and Salad | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

