I Made Buns! I Made Buns!

Yes, I am jumping up and down. I made Buns! I made Buns!

I mentioned in a recent post about using Jim Lahey’s No-Knead bread recipe for bread and pizza dough, but I had be unsuccessful using it to make buns.

This past October when I was at my friends house in Cambridge, MN I mentioned the “bun” issue and she pulled out a recipe she had just received from a friend for making buns.  I don’t know the origins of this recipe so for now I will say “a friend of a friend”….

This recipe made a HUGE bowl of dough and we made 36 buns and 36 cinnamon rolls. I must say that some of my buns got a little big in size, but they were the perfect size for burgers.

Buns ready to bake

Yesterday I meant to make buns to go with the pulled pork I was going to make. I guess I just got busy with other things and didn’t get to either the buns or the pork. Today it moved to the top of my list. I got the pork going in the crock pot and worked outside for a while. Then it was time to make buns!

The cut the recipe in half to make it more appropriate to what I needed.

Buns

  • 1 cup milk (scald)
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/4 tsp (1 pkg) yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 3 cups flour + 3 more cups flour

In sauce pan, scald milk. Remove from heat and stir in butter, sugar and salt. Allow to cool

Mix yeast and warm water and let sit for 5-10 min

Combine eggs, milk mixture, yeast mixture and 3 cups of flour.

Mix to combine ingredients well, then beat with mixer for 3 minutes

Start to add addition 3 cups of flour a little at at time as needed.

Knead lightly until dough is elastic

Place in an oiled bowl to rise until doubles in size (1 hour +/-)

Punch down dough and start forming into whatever you want: bun, roll, cinnamon roll.

Allow to rise again

Bake at 350

Mine took about 18 minutes, but that will vary with each oven

I ended up with 17 buns and a loaf of bread

I found this dough to be very soft and sticky and after kneading for a bit I oiled my hands to make it more manageable. And I only goofed up once. The original recipe is for 6 eggs, and 6 eggs I put in. Opps! They turned out fine, although I did have to add more flour to make up for it.

Fresh Buns

The buns turned out great and were a bit hit with the pulled pork tonight. There is enough for tomorrow nights dinner too.

Sincerely, Emily

P.S. I forgot to mention. Susy over at Chiot’s Run did a post a few days ago about buns and rolls. I was surprised how similar her recipe was to the one I was using.  Now that I have a bun recipe I think I will try her recipe too and compare the two next time I need to make some buns.

This entry was posted in Bread, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Made Buns! I Made Buns!

  1. chiotsrun says:

    These look great. It always is tough to get them the right size, I usually make them a little smaller than I think I’ll need and they end up being the right size. I’d rather have smaller burgers than huge ones.

    This is very similar to my recipe, I successfully add at least half of the flour as freshly ground hard wheat and they’re still really light and fluffy and delicious.

    • Hi Susy, Thanks for stopping by. I was amazed at how similar the recipes were. I bought a large bag of freshly ground red wheat, so that is what I am using with a mixture of white too. I did much better this time round making the buns burger size. For dinner rolls, I will definitely have to go much much small. I am so pleased to have successfully made buns twice…..I am on a roll! (couldn’t resist!) Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

