Shredding, and more shredding

I am a bit behind in filing. I have a nice stack of papers that needs to be filed and work on it from time to time.

Last week I really started working on it and realized I really hadn’t cleaned out the files lately. So, the filing got set aside and I started the process of cleaning out the files. Another project. But I was into it and focused and it was going well. I realized I hadn’t done that in a few years, but when I started finding paperwork in there from 1998, 2000, that was crazy! I know I have gone through these files since then. I know I went through them when we moved a few years ago. I guess I just missed a lot of it at the time. No time like the present…

So, now I have 3 stacks: stuff to be filed, stuff to be shredded, and stuff that can go in a box (those papers you keep for the past 7 years) and sit there for a few years until I need to sort, shred and organize again.

Shredding

Now that I had all the past records we needed to keep (past 7 years, just in case) I went to get the box out to pull out the things that were over 7 years old and put in the newer paperwork. Well, the box isn’t where I thought it was, but I found 3 other boxes of things that I need to unpack.

I still haven’t found the box of records. I know it is here.

Since we moved into this house we have managed to move each room around no less than 2-3 times. The room I thought was going to be the guest room, then turned into my workroom and now is in transition to be the office. And that is only ONE room. Those room changes propelled other room changes.  With all those changes came moving everything in and out and around. So, this box of records is here somewhere, I know I will find it.

In the meantime, I am still working on the shredding and I am still working on the filing, but I did get a lot done. It always feels good to purge out the old stuff and get rid of it. That is something that is hard to do around here. We save everything. But past bills – now those things area easy to get rid of. No emotional attachment there. YIPPEE!

Another good thing that comes out of all this is the shredded paperwork. That will get used in the compost pile. So another cycle with a good ending.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

