Bed of Green

The one thing I really missed in this summers garden is lettuce and spinach. They just don’t like the southern Texas heat….neither do I, but at least I can go back inside to an air conditioned house.

Now that the weather has cooled down here, the lettuce is flourishing in the garden.

Lovely Lush Lettuce

This fall we have had a lot of visitors and we have another friend staying with us for a few months until he gets settled into a new job in our area and finds a place to live.  I have found, rather quickly, that we are eating the lettuce faster than it is growing so I have planted another whole bed to make up for it.

More lettuce coming up

The second bed of lettuce is just popping up, but I am happy to wait for it to grow. I have also planted more spinach and will happily wait for it too.

The cabbage is growing nicely. I really love watching things develop out there in the garden. I am amazed at the changes I can see out there every day, every week, every month.  I have grown things in the past, but since we moved to Texas I have the time, the space and more desire to grow more and more of our food. Each year and season I learn more and am able to fit more and more into the fenced garden area. I am even going outside the fenced garden area and planting things amongst the herbs and flower in other gardens around the back yard. Each season, I want more space to grow food, so I find a way.

Cabbage Patch

We have to deal with a lot of deer that live in our area. Our back yard is fenced, but if they really want to, they can just effortlessly hop right over it. We did have to fix the fence in two areas when we first bought the house and that really made a difference with the deer. There is now only one time of year I find deer in the back yard – RIGHT NOW! Rutting season. Those girls are on the run and don’t think twice about hopping our fence to get away from the buck that is chasing them.

I am happy the lettuce is in the fenced garden.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bed of Green

  1. annie says:

    I always think it’s funny when I read a blog from somewhere else in the country and people talk about growing tomatoes and peas or peppers and lettuce at the same time during the summer. Since I have lived most of my life in Texas (where, as you know, that is impossible) it took me a while to understand that they weren’t making it up! I do love that in the fall I can finally grow tomatoes and peas at the same time… unless we get one of our freak early frosts. This year I’ve started a new garden on the west side of the brick wall of my house. I’m hoping this provides some frost protection. Of course, once summer comes back, nothing will be able to grow on the west wall of the house except cactus.

    • Hi Annie, Thanks for stopping by. I was hit by one of those freaky early frosts. Things were growing SO well and we had two nights of frost starting Oct 21 (a good month early!) that I lost most of the fall plants in the garden. I tried to nurse along the tomatoes and pole beans, but in the end it just didn’t work. I was one very sad girls for a few days. Then I realized it just left more room for other things like more broccoli, cauliflower, and cabbage. The garden you mentioned on the west side of your house will be great for things this time of year. Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

