I have no idea what this is

I found this at a thrift store. I have no idea what it is, or what it is used for…….and yet I still bought it! Crazy? Quite possibly!

Once Loved Item

There is nothing printed on the bottom, no markings, nothing!

Any Ideas?

Do any of you know what this is?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Once loved items. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I have no idea what this is

  1. annie says:

    Hey Emily, I think that is a cheese strainer. Like for a fresh cottage cheese or maybe straining yogurt for cheese. Seems like I saw a recipe once for a dessert which called for straining the yogurt/cream mixture and the accompanying picture showed a ceramic strainer with bowl similar to the one you have. That’s just my guess, I might be totally off base!

    • Hi Annie, I think that is a good guess. I have strained yogurt to make a soft cheese, but I use a butter muslin to do that, and I will do a large batch, like a quart or more. It seems odd that the contains is so tall and the strainer dish is small, like maybe you would strain a lot of liquid off something and there wouldn’t be much in the strainer. Or maybe something is meant to sit in the strainer section and the liquid fills the container – soaking or steeping? Thanks for looking. Emily

      • annie says:

        Yeah, I agree, the proportions seem weird. I’m with you, when I strain yogurt I strain more than the size of that top part. And now that we’ve had this conversation about strained yogurt I’m going to have to make some! It sounds good and I just made fresh crackers so I’m thinking dip 🙂

      • Annie, Making crackers is on my “list’ of things to do. It has been on that list for about 1 year. I need to move it to the top and just do it. Enjoy your crackers and dip! Emily

  2. Mary Ann says:

    I think it is a grease strainer, but the ones i have seen have a metal screen mesh.

Leave a Reply

