Saving Seeds

Saving seeds is important to me. It gives me a chance learn, enjoy and admire plants in a different way. I grew up in a family that enjoyed being outside doing many different activities and I learned early on how to collect seeds along the way . It was easy way to learn about plants as well as learn how to start seeds and grow things (thanks Mom!).

Datura seed pods

Seed pods can be so interesting and alluring to me.  I always make sure that I have tiny zip bags with me just in case I find a seed pod I can’t pass up when I am out and about.  It is an easy way to collect seeds and transport them home where I can then get them out to dry and then put into either a glass jar or a little envelope to save and plant when the time is right.

I am also never too shy to knock on someones door to ask what is growing in their yard or ask if I can have some seeds.

Datura seeds & seed pods

Datura seed pods are pretty easy to handle when they are green, but when they are dry their spines become very sharp. As they dry out the pods start to crack open and the seeds drop out.

My mom has some Datura growing in her gardens in Minnesota. I knew she needs to replant the seeds each spring to grow them again. My neighbor also has some growing and, here in Texas, it tends to re-seed itself. I look forward to growing a few Datura plants next year.

Here is a link to see Datura flower looks like.

My tiny little plastic bags didn’t work for these seed pods. Luckily they were just next door and I could borrow and container to get them home.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Flowers, Seed Saving and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Saving Seeds

  1. Flowers says:

    I really liked your blog! It helped me alot…

  2. Monex says:

    I know the devils trumpet puts off seed pods but on my single angel trumpets I cant find any seeds. The seed pods develop at the base of the flower so dont remove the flowers as they fade if you want to collect seeds. You need to let the pods ripen on the plant for the seeds inside to mature.

    • I only have experience with the Datura seed pods I have. I understand there are several varieties of Datura. I have a stem cutting from a plant my neighbor calls a “Trumpet Flower” and I have just placed in on the ground under a bit of soil and it has already started to grow (in early Dec). It will not handle the cold and freezes we will get so I have covered it with a bucket to help protect it and hopefully it will survive until spring. I think that plant had peach flowers on it.

  3. carolyn huddleston says:

    I have the pink and yellow Datura plants and they do not have seed pods. The double purple and white do have the seed pods. I also have the Night Bloomer and it also has a seed pod.The only one that can tolerate cold weather is the night bloomer one.The pink and yellow ones are inside and are touching the ceiling now. I will take starts off and see if they will root this spring and then move the big plants out when it is warmer at night. We have counted 80 and 90 blooms on the pink and white

  4. Mike says:

    the plants stem looks like “purslane” stems but not that pinkish-red
    i was just wandering do these come back every year or not

    • HI Mike. If you are looking for purslane to eat, make sure you positively identify it before eating it. My understanding of purslane is that it is both a perennial and an annual depending on where you live. It can live as a perennial is warmer climates zone 7 and above, while in cooler and colder climates it is a tender annual and comes back year after year because is readily reseeds. It likes moisture, but will survive in dry arid areas too. I have an abundance of it in the spring and as the heat of the summer comes it dies back, but after some rain it is popping up all over and I am transplanting it into the herb and veg gardens because it is great to add to salads. Again, if you are going to eat it, make sure you have positively identified it first. If you are not eating it, I think it is a beautiful plant and has beautiful flowers too.

Leave a Reply

