Crunchy Croutons

I baked 3 loaves of bread last week with croutons in mind.

Herb seasoned bread

We have been eating a lot of fresh greens from the garden. With the greens I add other veggies like cucumber and tomatoes, shredded or chucks of the cheese I make, carrots and celery. The list goes on and on,  but we haven’t had croutons for a while.

Croutons straight out of the oven

The croutons vary each time I make them. This time I added the seasonings into the bread dough as I made it. I used an “Herbs de Provence” mixture of herbs including rosemary, thyme, and marjoram. I know the basic herbs used in “Herbs de Provence” are rosemary, thyme, and marjoram with a few variations adding savory and lavender flowers. I have five lovely rosemary plants outside around the house so that is an easy herb for me to use either fresh or dried. For thyme I have lemon thyme and English thyme. Next spring I will be planting more thyme. I don’t have any marjoram in the garden, so that is on my list of herbs to grow. The more I grow the less I have to buy and the cost savings will be wonderful too. The other part about growing my own herbs is that I know how they are grown and that there are no chemicals used in growing them.  I can just walk outside and get them when I need them.

Croutons

!! Sorry for the terrible last photo. For the past 2+ years I have had many camera challenges (mostly self induced). That is all going to change. Yesterday I received a camera for Christmas.  So there should be a HUGE improvement in my photos!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Bread, Food, Herbs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crunchy Croutons

  1. Pingback: Making “Italian Seasonings” | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

