A little trip to New Orleans

Earlier this month I spent a few days in New Orleans with my parents.  They were visiting us in Texas and on their way to Florida for the winter. So I hopped in the car with them and we drove over to New Orleans for a few days. From there they continued on to Florida and I flew home. I had hoped to post some photos from our trip, but today when I went to sort through them my computer it telling me they are too big to view…hmmmmm…I “viewed” them a few days ago, so I am not sure what has changed or how to change it. I am going to try to post a few here and see what happens….

One place in New Orleans that I wanted to check out was a store called Central Grocery. They don’t have a website, but here is a link to their address and location on a map. They are located in the French Quarter on Decatur Street. They are famous for their Muffaletta (also spelled Muffuletta) sandwich. Somehow I managed to eat it and never get a photos. Here is a link to Yelp reviews and it has a photo. I didn’t realize they were closed on Sundays and Mondays, and we happened to be there on Sat morning around 11am AND there wasn’t a line out the door, so I bought my sandwich and ate it later in the day.

A very large jar of Capers!

Central Grocery was a really fun store to wander through. It is not very big and there are only two crowded isles, so you have to sort of move with the traffic. The first thing I saw when I walked in was this very large jar of capers.  32 oz! Just beautiful.

Central Grocery - seeds for sale

Seeds from Italy. What nice display of beautiful seeds. What a neat thing to find in the middle of New Orleans French Quarter. All the packets where in Italian, although some had a little extra label on them in English (mainly on how to plant them).

All in all, I would go back there if I find myself in New Orleans again. It was such a neat place.

Sincerely, Emily

P.S. Glad my photos loaded so you can see them!

This entry was posted in Food, Miscellaneous, New Orleans and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little trip to New Orleans

  1. dee d says:

    I remember this store!! It was great fun–so many items I’ve never seen. I think I bought some pralines (Prawleens pronunciation) there. always the sweet tooth!! I remember when I was first taught how to say New Orleans and pralines by a friend who was a native…

    • I loved Central Grocery. It was such a fun store. I remember you buying pralines in almost every store we went in (if they had them.) I also remember right after Central Grocery we walked into a sugary sweet store and bought many pralines for you to take with you!

Leave a Reply

