What to do if you lost the combination

Over the past 4+ years I have been visiting my mom a few times each summer and we are going through things and trying to “downsize” the amount to “stuff” in their home (we are working towards having a pre-estate sale in the next few years).

For years she has had a box where she keeps the combination padlocks and key padlocks. Some of those combo locks have been separated from their combinations.

Master Lock

I went online to Master Locks and they have an area of information on lost combinations and you can print out a form, have it notarized and mail it in with a photocopy of the back of the lock showing the serial number. They will then email or mail you the combination.

The other day I was looking for something in the attic and came across a lock (without a combination attached to it). So I now have my form all filled out and will get it notarized and then send it off.  I do not have to pay to get things notarized, so I am not sure what the cost of that is. I am not sure it is worth the cost if you only have one lock, but Master Lock will accept up to 5 locks on one form.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What to do if you lost the combination

  1. Jane Mastro says:

    Wow, I never knew you could do that. Thanks for the info. That could come in handy some day.

  2. Pingback: I opened the lock: It’s About Time! | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

