Time to start seeds

I started some seeds on January 17th and 18th. I was not here to see the tomatoes come up and there are still many that haven’t started to come up yet (eggplant! and red bell pepper!)

Eggplant & Red Bell Peppers coming up

This is what I planted (how many/name/where from/so far what has germinated)

The tomatoes are looking good and I will need to transplant them up into bigger containers soon. I love the fuzz on the little seedling! The eggplants and peppers that are up only just broke the surface yesterday, and I know they have not been warm enough, so there is still time (and hope) for more to come up.

Healthy looking tomatoes seedlings

It is now time for me to plant a few more things. We are experiencing some very cold weather for our part of the country. We had snow this morning and are down into the teens at night. I think tonight is the last night forecast for 20F, then the night time temps will rise to 32F with daytime temps in the 50’s. So transplanting the tomatoes will have to wait a few days until I can get some of the dirt to warm up outside in the sunshine and bring it inside.

Over the weekend I hope to get some more seeds planted inside under the lights.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Time to start seeds

  1. Joni Jones says:

    Looking good, you definitely have it going.

    • I few more peppers have popped up since I put the heating pad under them yesterday. Glad to see them. I will plant a few more varieties of peppers today and a few other things I hope.

  2. annie says:

    Looks great! We’ve got a 67 degree day here so I moved all mine outside for a while. It’s nice to have the kitchen table back πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, to have green things growing! It will be a couple of months for me, for now I will just have to look at photos of yours.

    -Brenda

  4. Pingback: Starting Seeds: Tomatoes, Peppers and Eggplant | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

