Homemade Pizza

I love making homemade pizza.  I use the no-knead dough recipe that I use to make bread and just cut each bowl of dough in half at the point where I set it aside to rest for 1 hour. That way I get 2 fairly large pizzas out of one bowl of bread dough. I just have to remember to mix it up either the night before or first thing in the morning if I want to make pizza for dinner. There are tons of other pizza dough recipes out there and one day I will try some of them, but for now, this works for me.

re-heating left-over pizza

I seem to have a line up of toppings that I use most of the time. I try to keep them on hand and ready to use. For some of the toppings that means pre-cooking them and freezing them like caramelized onions and sausage.  When we are running low I will caramelize a big batch of onions at one time and then freeze them in amounts I think we would use for a few pizzas. Sausage gets done the same way. I tend to season the sausage with extra fennel seeds and crushed red peppers and then freeze it.

One of my favorite combinations

one pizza usually has:

  • pepperoni
  • green peppers
  • black olives

another pizza might have:

It also really depends on what is left-over in the fridge and what might be available in the garden. Any type of left-over meat works. I like it when I can use fresh green peppers and onions from the garden. I am still using sun dried tomatoes that I dried several years ago when we lived in Palm Springs, I had one tomato plant that grew for a year and just kept producing. I have also used fresh cooked chard and instead of a tomato based sauce I have used homemade basil pesto.

The options are endless.

One of my goals this year to to grown enough red bell peppers to be able to fire roast them and preserve them so we can enjoy them on pizzas, in homemade hummus or with cheese and crackers.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Bread, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Homemade Pizza

  1. Xan says:

    It looks delicious, but for me pizza is the meal I don’t have to cook. If g*d had meant me to make pizza, he wouldn’t have invented home delivery. 😉

    • Xan, you are so funny. I must admit that there are times I will still get take out pizza, but not very often. For me it is about reducing those pre-made items that I know I can make myself and use what I can from the garden & the pantry. This pizza seems to freeze well too & that really helps when I don’t feel like cooking. So I will usually double the amount of dough I need depending one how many people are eating here an& that will give me some left-overs to freeze for another meal.

  2. That pizza looks delicious! I love homemade pizza, no comparison to the frozen stuff.

    -Brenda

  3. Pingback: Making Pizza Crusts | Sincerely, Emily

  4. Pingback: Finally Used the KitchenAid Mixer- It’s About Time | Sincerely, Emily

  5. Pingback: Finding my way… « Not Dabbling In Normal

Leave a Reply

