Cool as a Cucumber soup

Last summer when I was visiting my parents in Minnesota my mom and I made a lovely cold cucumber soup using cucumbers from my step fathers vegetable garden. The recipe we used was out of the old worn and well-used Joy of Cooking that she has.

Making cold cucumber soup

Last summer I jointed the San Antonio Herb Society and they have special interest groups (SIG) that meet once a month. A few months ago I was able to join the Culinary SIG and this months meeting topic was soup. The idea is to bring a soup and recipe to share, with the idea of utilizing herbs (after all we are all members of the herb society). I know it is February and it is technically still winter (although it sure felt spring-like this week) and I figured everyone would make hearty warm soups. I decided I wanted to make the cold cucumber soup that my mom and I made last summer.

Since I didn’t have the recipe mom and I used and mom is in Florida placing her no where near the Joy of Cooling sitting on the shelf in the kitchen in Minnesota, I decided to go on-line to see what I could find that was close to what we made.

I found the following recipe, however, I neglected to make a note as to where I found it. I went back on-line to see if I could find it because I would like to give credit and a link, but I couldn’t find it.

I tried to follow the recipe as closely as I could. I just don’t do that very well. I must say that I used a lot more sour cream than the recipe calls for, I just liked the tangy taste it added.

Cold Cucumber Soup

Cool as a Cucumber Soup
The herbs in here are up to you. Dill goes exceptionally well with cucumber, but basil, mint, or cilantro would all work very nicely, too. I used dill!

Serves: 4

Ingredients:
3 cups plain yogurt
1/2 cup thick, drained yogurt, Greek style yogurt, or sour cream
1 garlic clove, peeled and chopped
2 tablespoons chopped chives or scallions
3 large cucumbers, peeled in alternating strips, halved, seeds scooped out
a generous handful of fresh dill, basil, cilantro or mint
a few sprigs flat-leaf parsley, optional
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Preparation:

1. Combine yogurt, garlic, 2 cucumbers, and herbs in a blender. Puree until fairly smooth. You may have to do this in batches to avoid overloading your blender.

2. Pour soup mixture into a large pitcher and set aside. Grate or finely dice remaining cucumber and stir in for texture. Taste and add salt and pepper as needed.

3. Chill well. Serve very cold, topped with a little extra herbs and chives

I don’t have any fresh garden cucumbers this time of year, but I was use fresh chives and dill from the garden and homemade yogurt too. I also used garlic from last years crop.

This soup was a big hit with the culinary group. There were so many good soups in our group. I was really surprised that out of nine soups there were no duplicates and each one was unique in itself. I will post a few more recipes soon. One person brought fresh bread, another cheese and crackers and someone brought an herbs butter too. It was a fabulous get-together.

Next month our Culinary Special Interest Group topic is Cheese. One of the members will demonstrate how to make mozzarella and queso cheese.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Herbs, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cool as a Cucumber soup

  1. Pingback: My first Tamalada: Tamale making party | Sincerely, Emily

  2. Pingback: SSFC: Raw – #2 | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

