My spring seedlings are growing

I am very excited about our spring garden this year. I am more on track with getting seedlings started and they seem to be growing well. The past two years I would get really far behind in seed starting so I finally sat down and made a list of things I wanted to grow and then separated them out into groups that needed to be started around the same time. So when February 15th rolled around I knew I would start peppers, eggplants, and tomatoes. There were no questions about when I needed to start what plant, I had it all laid out and this really really helped me a lot.  I seem to be on track this year (so far at least)

This photo was taken on Feb 19th. Things are looking good and growing well.

Things are growing well - Feb 19th

This next photo was taken Feb 26th. The tomato seedlings are really doing well.

Tomato seedlings Feb 26th

I thought it was time to move them up into gallon size pots.

transplanted tomatoes into gallon pots Feb 27th

So on February 27th the big move was made. I transplanted as many of the tomatoes as I could before I ran out of gallon size pots. I transplanted a few red bell peppers and a few eggplants too. Next year I think I need to start the bell peppers and eggplants a little earlier.

Indoor "greenhouse"

I had to make a few adjustments to the shelves so all the larger pots would fit. Right now I can’t fit any more plants on the shelves. I need to clear off an area on the counter in this room and hang a light under the upper cabinets to make room for some of the other plants when I move them into larger pot.

This year I wanted to grow all of our vegetable plants. So far that plan is working out. There are a few Anaheim peppers in the mix that I purchased to give to my neighbor to grow. I didn’t plan ahead for that…next year I will. I did plant red bell peppers, orange bell peppers and Napoleon sweet peppers, but somehow missed planting the Anaheim Peppers (I need to add it to my planting schedule list so I don’t miss that next year).

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My spring seedlings are growing

  1. Jane says:

    I am not sure why, but looking at those plants makes my mouth water 🙂 It just looks so nice to see those big tomato plants. I can just smell them. I am just going to start seeds in the next week and that may be early. This Spring can’t move fast enough for me.

    • Hi Jane – The plants smell so good. I daydream about tomatoes when I smell them. I just borrowed some gallon pots from a neighbor so I could pot up the rest of the tomatoes and peppers. It is 77F here today, but it is still too early to plant things outside.

  2. annie says:

    Those look great!

    • Thanks Annie – I feel good about the plants I have started and feel better about being on track this year and not so rushed and behind. I am getting the hang of this.

  3. Pingback: Starting Seeds: Tomatoes, Peppers and Eggplant | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

