What’s for dinner? Pumpkin, Turkey and Brown Rice

Real Food Challenge

Sometime dinner can get interesting. This time it was “interesting, good” (versus “interesting, bad”

In the spirit of eating out of the freezer I pulled out two containers of pumpkin.   I already had some thawed turkey in the fridge and I needed to use that up. I thought I would puree the pumpkin with either broth or milk and put it over the turkey or just heat the pumpkin and turkey separately and everyone could just take what they wanted with salad on the side.

The guys where going to get home late (+/- 11pm) and I really didn’t want to stay up and wait, so I decided to make a casserole of sorts.  This is when things get creative for me. I think if they would have been home about 9-10pm I would have still pureed the pumpkin, but since it was going to be much later, my dinner concoction needed to change. Now it is all in one dish and could be left in a warm oven. That way I didn’t have to have 2-3 different containers on the counter for them to dish out of. It just made it a lot easier for me and for them.

Pumpkin & turkey

I heated up the pumpkin (in hind sight, I really didn’t need to do that) and then I added diced turkey to it. I still wasn’t sure what else was going in there, so I added some seasoning while I thought about it. I added some curry powder and some greek seasonings (from Penzeys).

I decided to add brown rice. So I cooked up some brown rice and added that to the mixture.

Pumpkin, Turkey and Rice

I was thinking I would just shred some cheese over the top, but as an after thought I decided to use some of the bread crumbs I had. I tossed the bread crumbs with butter and topped the casserole with them. DONE!

Topped with buttered bread crumbs

I had some for my dinner and I liked it. I was curious what they guys would think of it.  The next morning I noticed the dish was soaking in the kitchen sink – so they ate all of it.  Through a text message the next day I learned that one of them was still talking about it today (I didn’t know if that was odd or bad). It turned out after some translation that he liked it. My husband said he also liked it and later that night the third guy was at the house with me and he said, “what was in that dish you made last night?” My first reaction was, “first tell me if you liked it or not!” He liked it and told me not to lose that recipe. Of course by now I am laughing (there is no recipe and I am just plain laughing at the reaction to dinner from all of them). I proceeded to tell him what was in it.  Pumpkin – I learned a few months back that he didn’t like pumpkin (or any squash) after I made pureed pumpkin and served it over a cheese ravioli (He liked it!). Turkey (He thought it was chicken). Curry seasoning (He doesn’t like curry!) Brown rice (you guessed it, He doesn’t like brown rice). Bread crumbs (thought it was stuffing). But he liked the dinner. Maybe he just likes it when someone else is cooking it for him

Dinner was a hit. Next time I will mix some sort of green into it – like chard, spinach or kale.  It can be made with any meat (sausage would be nice) and it could be meatless too. Any squash (including zucchini) would work well. I could add any vegetable to this, including onion or chive or garlic. It will be a very versatile dish to re-make and I know it will be different each time. Here is a list of the approximate measurements for the things I used.

  • 4 cups of cooked pumpkin (any squash would work)
  • 1+ cups of diced cooked turkey (any meat or go meatless)
  • 1 cup of uncooked brown rice – cooked
  • maybe 1/4 tsp curry powder
  • 1-2 tsp greek seasoning
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 2T melted butter

I know as we eat out of the freezer I am cleaning out the old and making room for the more organic and local meats and foods I want to eat now. As I make my list and think about where our food came from, this wasn’t the best meal, but it was Real Food. It is still interesting to look at what is important to me now and see where the food came from.

  • Pumpkin – not organic, but I think it was from Texas
  • Turkey – not organic, not local
  • Rice – organic, not local
  • Seasonings – not organic, not local
  • Bread Crumbs – homemade
  • Butter – organic, not local

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Real Food Challenge, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s for dinner? Pumpkin, Turkey and Brown Rice

  1. If God had intended us to follow recipes,
    He wouldn’t have given us grandmothers.
    ~Linda Henley

  2. I know – it’s so easy to just buy stuff and not think about where it comes from. it’s so nice to be able to eat foods grown locally!

    • I have been thinking more and more about where food comes from. Really when it comes down to it, it isn’t hard to cook dinner from scratch, but many people are not used to doing that (or don’t know how) so it is easier to buy a box of something.

  3. Dani says:

    Emily – Sorry to have to contact you via your blog, but I can’t find an e-mail address for you on your blog.

    Congratulations! You are the unanimous winner of Juicing for Health 🙂 Please could you let me have your postal address so that I can send the book to you.

    It is a brilliant little book – hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Dani

  4. Pingback: Real Food Roundup Week 2 | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

