The tomatoes are growing

Every day I take a walk to see how things are growing. Every day I see something new.

Yellow Pear tomatoes

Farmers Market Yellow Tomato

The “Farmers Market” tomato plants that I have in the above were originally purchased at a near by farmers market. I do not know the name of them, but I loved their smokey flavor and their beautiful yellow color so I decided to save seeds. That was two years ago… So far, this year, the bushes are getting bigger than they have and there are many more tomatoes on each plant. This is most likely due to the fact that I started the plants in February (inside) and they are getting a nice healthy start. The bushes have always been short and stocky for me, so I am anxious to see what they develop into this year.

MORE tomatoes

Enough about tomatoes. Look at what else is already growing in the garden…

Wisconsin Lakes Red Bell Pepper

I forgot to take my camera next door today. The Anaheim peppers that my neighbor is growing for me are doing well. He has already picked the first pepper!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The tomatoes are growing

  1. Jane says:

    I am sooooo jealous. Those tomatoes looks so good. It is amazing that once you see those globes form that it seems to take another 9 months before you actually get a tomato. Or maybe that is just me, since I am so impatient to have a fresh tomato. And I have 3 more months before I will 😦

    • Hi Jane, I didn’t mean to make you jealous! You are right. Even though I see new tomatoes developing and other things growing, it seems like I have been waiting forever for the tomatoes to ripen. But I will have tomatoes soon! Just not soon enough!

  2. Zonnah says:

    I am a bit jealous right now 🙂 Tomatoes around here won’t be ready for a couple of months.

    • Hi Zonnah, I know we are ahead of the northern part of the US in our plantings. Which means we are hotter already too. 98F yesterday and nasty humid to go with it. The tomatoes are the fun part, the heat isn’t. But that is why we have planted already and have tomatoes…..ah quite a circle isn’t it?

      • Zonnah says:

        Yeah the hottest it has gotten here so far is 60 degrees.

      • 60! I’ll take it! We have been down right windy the past few days. We were 90F yesterday and a front moved in mid-afternoon and the temp dropped to 70 rather quickly. From there is cooled down more. Today it hasn’t gotten above 54F and still very windy. A bit nippy – but I am not complaining. The garden outside might be complaining though.

Leave a Reply

