Some wildlife in our neighbors yard

I walk next door to the neighbors several times during the week.  Most of the time I don’t have my camera with me. MANY times I wish I did.  The other day I managed to remember to take it with me and I happened to get a few photos of some of the wildlife that walks their yard every day.

Lolly Pop

Lolly Pop lounging

Lolly Pop- time for a drink

Lolly pop is about five years old. He will not always let you know where he is, but if you see him and talk to him, he will usually look straight at you and listen and watch you. Sometimes he will approach you and sometimes will flop down for a belly rub. Other times he will walk the other way. This day he followed me around a bit.

Snoopy taking a break

Snoopy is around six years old and very indifferent to your presence. He usually doesn’t let you know where he is. Other times he will follow you around while you work in the gardens always remaining about five-ten feet away, never looking at you or what you are doing but always gazing into the distance like there is something much more important (very cat style I think).

Blackie pausing from a drink out of the dripping faucet

Blackie is the newest member of their family. He is definitely under a year old. I would estimate he is around 9-11 months old. He is what I call “personality plus.” Always around to see what you are doing and what you are into. He will follow you around for hours and never tire of it, although he is easily distracted by other moving things. He will look up into your eyes and melt you heart and talk to you like he hasn’t seen you in weeks. I can just call him and he will come running to see me. If my cats would allow another cat to be brought into your home I would have brought him home in an instant. That just wouldn’t work, so I am happy to go visit him next door and I know he has a good home there.

Wildlife? Well…not really.

Each cat has their own distinct personality. My neighbors have five cats, all of which were strays that wandered onto their property and into my their hearts.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some wildlife in our neighbors yard

  1. Zonnah says:

    Our neighbor takes in strays all the time but they are mostly feral. Our garage / shack is old and mainly used for storage, has holes in it and we let the strays live in it. It is interesting to watch the rotation of the cats. The cats that start living in it will disappear and then new ones will take there spot.

  2. Jane says:

    Those cats really seem to have a hard life 😉

  3. Oh, my cat would love to be lounging or exploring outside. He has no front claws though and there are many cars coming and going so we have to be careful.

    ~Brenda

    • I do worry about our cats when they are out. Kivuli is the one who tends to explore further from the house, the 2 girls stay pretty close to home. Along with a busy road out front there are so many other animals like opossum, raccoon, fox, as well as a few stray cats.

Leave a Reply

