An evening of aggravating armadillos

Armadillos. While looking for a little information to share with you I found a website that calls the armadillos a rather “odd looking beast.” Hmmmm, that about covers is.

There is another University of San Francisco has paper on line titled The Biogeography of the Nine-Banded Armadillo (Dasypus novemcinctus).   It talks of a Mayan legend that describes an event where two rebellious gods were taught a lesson (seriously – I am not kidding)!

Armadillos certainly are an interesting animal. Interesting or not, I have never seen one wandering around (although I know they are around), the only place I have seen them is pancake-flat on the side of the road.

What I have also seen is their handiwork in my gardens.

Armadillo handy work

The other night one decided to slink under the fence into the backyard looking of r a grub buffet.  Luckily I only found two plants that were completely uprooted; a day lily and a young purple sage, but many other plants were laying on their sides and not looking too happy. All those plants were in a area I had watered that morning. The ground must have still been moist enough to draw the armadillo in. Dang it! (this was before the rain we had yesterday)

I didn’t notice the destruction until later that day. You can bet I will be out there each morning surveying my gardens a bit more closely. With our area as dry as it is I am surprised the armadillos haven’t paid me a visit sooner.

Sincerely, Emily

P.S. I am assuming this is the handy work of an armadillo. In reality it could be a opossum or a raccoon too.

This entry was posted in Flowers, Herbs, Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An evening of aggravating armadillos

  1. Jane says:

    On all my trips south I have never caught a glimpse of a live one either. My dog found one on an early morning walk in Georgia. But I was not the walker, so I missed that chance as well. They are cute buggers.

  2. Zonnah says:

    Being from the north I have never seen one in real life, just in pictures. Hopefully not much more gets damaged.

Leave a Reply

