Eggplant

From Flower…

Eggplant flower 18 May 2011

To Fruit…

Eggplant 27 May 2011

The majority of the vegetables growing in the garden are organic and heirlooms that I started from seed this spring.  I do, however, have a handful of store bought plants that are hybrids.

29 May 2011

This past winter I let a lot of the winter vegetables go to seed this spring and they took up a lot of planting space when it came time to plant the spring garden. As I harvested some of the seeds and took the plants out of the ground. At that point I wanted to add more veggies but did not have any more seedlings to plant so I decided to turn to things at the nursery.

The eggplant in the photos above was one of the store bought hybrids. I have three other organic eggplants growing, two of which flowered a few days after this hybrid and should be showing their fruit soon. It will be interesting to see how differently the two type develop.

31 May 2011

Other hybrids I have planted include:

  • jalapeno
  • cubanelle sweet pepper
  • yellow bell peppers
  • banana peppers
  • zucchini (from a friend)

What types of plants or seeds do you grow?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eggplant

  1. Dani says:

    Emily – LOL – my eggplants are still flowering – although none are procuing fruit. I live in hope…

    • Hi Dani – I am glad you eggplants are flowering, to me, that means there is hope. I think we always need to have hope. I am still trying to keep hope (and my veg garden) alive right now. We are so so so dry!

  2. Zonnah says:

    I bought my peppers and tomatoes, everything else was seeds this year.
    Eggplant has some beautiful flowers!

  3. Pingback: Blooming right now: Eggplant | Sincerely, Emily

  4. Pingback: Sunday Photos: Purple | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

