Basil

Basil (Ocimum basilicum) is one thing I love to grow and love to eat.

Basil

I did a post on Basil Pesto last fall. It is fun to look back and see all that fresh basil. YUM!

I tried to start basil in the ground again this year, but didn’t keep a very close on on it and those darn pill bugs (roly polies) always seem to nibble it down to nothing again. So back to planting in pots.

A few more pots of basil

Basil is full of wonderful nutrients. It is an excellent source of vitamin C, calcium, vitamin A and phosphorus.  Basil is also a useful source of magnesium, potassium and iron.

I am growing a sweet basil, but there are so many other types of basil out there. To name a few:

My favorite way to use my basil is to make basil pesto. It is really very easy to make and keep in the freezer to use later.  I don’t follow any specific recipe, but here, and here, and here are a few you can look at if you want to make your own basil pesto.

Basil Pesto (the basics)

  • Fresh basil leaves (and tender stems)
  • Parmesan Cheese (grated)
  • Olive Oil
  • Pine Nuts
  • Garlic
  • Salt

I use a blender or food processor to blend it all together.

Do you grown any favorite herbs that you like to grow?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Herbs, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Basil

  1. Dani says:

    My favourite too – yours looks a very healthy plant, and obviously loves it’s pot and spot 🙂

    • Hi Dani – The basil certainly likes that spot on the deck. I am one to stick with a good thing if it is working. One of the pots is a bit stunted and slow to grow, but that is alright.

  2. banbamama says:

    Your basil is amazing. I hope mine is as successful as yours. Nothing beats homemade pesto!

  3. Zonnah says:

    I am growing basil for the first time this year and it just is not doing very good. Yours looks great!

    • Zonnah, for me, it was finding the right spot. It is so hot here, that full sun wasn’t working for me. It now gets dapples light until later afternoon and a bit of direct sun there. I still need to water it everyday, but it is worth it. Have you tried “feeding” it? Do you think it might need a bit of fertilizer? If mine takes a turn and starts to look bad I water in some organic fertilizer.

  4. Zonnah says:

    I am thinking it does not get enough sun. A couple of the morning hours are shaded out by our shed. Next year I am going to try a different location and take your advice on feeding it.

Leave a Reply

