Words cannot explain what Mr. Toad is up to!

I am certainly glad my friend had a good laugh about this.

Surprise!

How do you explain to your guest why there is a toad in the toilet? I mean really, what could you possibly come up with to explain that? Especially after they have just used the toilet, flushed and were about to close the lid and see this – MR. TOAD!

Scorpion! That was the first thing that popped into my mind when she called out and asked me to come and take a look at something. She says, “just come and take a look.” Next thing that popped into my mind is “cat!” Aw man, what has Kivuli done now! “No really, Just look.”Ā  So, I am back to the”scorpion ” thought. “Just come in here and look” as she pointed to the toilet bowl. I lean over a bit, and see nothing. So I ask her “what are you talking about?” …” Look again!”

OH MY, there is Mr. Toad cooling off the in the toilet bowl. Now, before you ask, YES the toilet is indoors. In the house. In the bathroom. etc. etc.

“Wait! I need to get a picture of this” I say. She comes back with “I already did that!”

I explain to her that we have a Toad Commune just outside that very bathroom under the a/c slab. Its just that they really aren’t allowed in the house. She laughs. By the way, I am cracking up too.

This also leads to a “rat-in-the-toilet” story from when we lived in Palm Springs. Yes, RAT! But I will save that story for another time.

We fish Mr. Toad out of the toilet bowl and through the local transportation (me) we take him out and deliver him the outer limits of the Toad Commune.

Several times that day we laughed about Mr. Toad. He does have some fun adventures it seems. I just can’t quite work out how he got in the toilet.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Little things, Miscellaneous, Mr. Toad and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Words cannot explain what Mr. Toad is up to!

  1. Jane says:

    To think of all the obstacles he had to overcome to get IN the toilet, it is amazing. I guess they are branching out! My own toad got run out of my greenhouse by a snake, so now the slugs are back. So if Mr. Toad is thinking of relocating, PA isnt so bad this time of year. And you have very clean toilets šŸ˜‰

    • Hi Jane. Obstacles – YES! With the kind of adventure he just went on (to get in my toilet) he may very well be willing to relocate, although I do think there is enough work for him here. I will chat with him about his options. Clean toilet – thanks! I am glad it was so clean with all the photos being taken.

  2. Zonnah says:

    That is so weird! Also, it is amazing it lived through the flush.

  3. Suzanne says:

    I am having the same problem but my “toad in the toilet” is a big guy. My question is how in the world did he get there in the first place?

    • Hi Suzanne – I know different types of toads vary in size. They type of toad I have in my area may be different from yours. The female toads (of the type I have) are much bigger than the males ones. I still have no idea how he got in the toilet.

  4. Pingback: T is for… | Sincerely, Emily

  5. Joanna says:

    Could he have swum in?

  6. Kelly says:

    My dad found a toad in his toilet today (sep.28,2011)… So I had to look it up n c if anyone else had a similar experience! His toad even had a few bumps & bruises from the travel:) but he was let out by my 6 yr old who wanted to keep it (naturally) by the creek… Good luck to all the toilet toads!!!

  7. Pingback: Mr. Toad’s new swimming hole | Sincerely, Emily

  8. Sarah says:

    I just a found a LARGE toad in our guest toilet this morning – the lid was down and our windows and doors are always kept closed. It’s way too big to have got in through any hole from the outside. So now what?? And how do we stop (worse) things from swimming up there…….UGH!!

    • Sarah – what a surprise that must have been. Like you, I have no idea how my toad got in the toilet. This was the first and only “thing” we have ever found in the toilet in the 4 years we have lived here. I was over-cautious for several weeks and went into the guest bathroom several times a day to see if it happened again. No repeats so far. For me, I just won’t worry about it until it happens again an happens a lot. If it is just a toad, I still won’t get too excited about it. If it happening quite frequently, then I would need to look into it. If it is “just a toad,” well, my advise is – pluck him out of the toilet, rinse him off and place him back outside in a shady spot with some safe hiding spots for him and gently ask him to stay outside.

  9. Pingback: Mr. Toad returns (2012) | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

