Turk’s Cap (Malvaviscus arboreus)

Turk’s Cap is a native shrub to Central Texas. I am happy to have one growing in my deck garden.

Turk's Cap

The Turk’s Cap in my garden has does really well the past few years. It is does very well in the drought we are having, looking perky during the day and sagging a bit in the late evening, but then perking up again ready for a new day.

My Turk’s Cap is just shy of 5′ tall right now.

Details on Turk’s Cap:

  • 2-6′ Height
  • 3-5′ width
  • Sun or Shade
  • Deciduous
  • Blooms late Spring – Fall
  • Red Flowers
  • Requires Light watering
  • Prune to keep compact or when leggy
  • Attracts butterflies and hummingbirds
  • deer resistant
  • Aggressively spreads

Turk's Cap flower

The first year we were in this house, the Turk’s Cap did not get to big or tall. The last two years it has really grown and I can see that it really wasn’t planted in the best spot. I will leave it there for now and enjoy the color.

I have collected some seeds from my plants the last few years, but have yet to start any from those seeds.  I know I will work on starting those seeds one day and look forward to having more of these plants in our yard. I might even take a risk and see how it does in the front yard with the deer.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Flowers, Texas Natives (plants) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turk’s Cap (Malvaviscus arboreus)

  1. Zonnah says:

    That is a pretty flower and very unusual.

    • My big Turk’s Cap is blooming right now. Even with little water it is very happy to show its colors. I love the native plants. I will be focusing more on the natives from now on.

Leave a Reply

