Thistle flowers

I really like thistle flowers. There is just something about them. I like the color. I like the texture of all the spines. I like the detail in them.

Thistle blooms

One of these flower heads had a little surprise in it.

A little surprise

There is a beetle that has burrowed into the flower. I set the flowers outside because I didn’t want the bug in the house. Even after a few hours, he was still in there. He wasn’t going anywhere.

There are a few thistles that appear really similar to me. As close as I can tell, this is a Bull Thistle (Cirsium vulgare)

Aster family (Asteraceae)

• Family: Aster (Asteraceae)
• Habitat: dry fields, roadsides and waste places
• Height: 3-6 feet
• Flower size: flowerheads 1-1/2 to 2-1/2 inches across
• Flower color: pink to magenta
• Flowering time: June to September
• Origin: Eurasia

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Flowers, Little things, Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thistle flowers

  1. banbamama says:

    These are beautiful. I love the jug! The beetle is way to cosy in there to come out 😉

    • I like the little jug too. It is only 4′ tall and it makes a good vase. The cozy beetle never did come out, so those flowers stayed out on the deck. I enjoyed them out there.

  2. zonnah says:

    I would not have brought them in either.

Leave a Reply

