Making Pizza Crusts

I love making pizza at home. I did a post here back in February about it. What I don’t like is how long it takes for my dough. I make a no-knead dough (I talked about it here in a post last Fall), so I mix it up the day/night before I want to make pizza or bread. I don’t change anything about the main recipe, although I might add some seasonings to the dough. Seasonings like dried basil or oregano .

Pizza Crusts

The two crusts in the above photo are all wheat crusts and I did not add any seasonings to them.

I decided I wanted to try making the crusts ahead of time, bake them and then freeze them.  It isn’t so bad when I am only making one batch of dough (makes two crusts) but when we invite friends over I can bake between four to six pizzas and that takes a lot of time with only two pizzas in the oven at once, and keeps me in the kitchen instead of at the table kicking back with everyone else.

Roll out the dough. Partially bake the crust. Add toppings. Bake in oven to heat and melt everything. Finally on the table. It really isn’t a hassle, just time consuming when I want to sit and enjoy having friends over. One other positive thing about the way that original  process takes, is two pizzas come out within a few minutes of each other. Everyone can eat a bit and then sit and relax before the next ones come out. And there isn’t room on the table for four to six pizzas at once either. The biggest issue for me is that I am in the kitchen the whole time, not sitting down. When everyone leaves I tend to say the same things, “I am not doing that again, it is too much work!”

I have thought about breaking each batch of dough into four smaller pizzas and have everyone make their own. That is still an option. I just need to get a few larger baking sheets that could each hold two smaller pizzas at the same time.

One other option is for me to roll out and pre-back the crusts before everyone arrives. That means all I really have to do it top them and put them back in the oven to heat and melt everything.

A few days ago I thawed one of the crusts to see how it would work. It froze fine. One thing I didn’t like was wrapping it in plastic wrap and I want to figure out a way to wrap them without using the plastic. Maybe freezer paper or foil, I am just not sure.  After the crust thawed out, I did throw it in the oven to heat it up a bit before adding the toppings.

In the end I didn’t get a crunchy crust, but it was fine. I still have 3 more in the freezer to use and I think it will save me a lot of time, especially when I haven’t put much thought into dinner out what I am making for dinner.

Update: I was introduced to the larger 2-gallon zip-type bags. I now make 3 pizza crusts per batch of no-knead bread dough and they fit nicely into that bigger zip-bag. I still don’t like buying and using plastic, but I do wash and re-use the bags, so I know they will last a long time.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Bread, Homemade, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Making Pizza Crusts

  1. I do a sort of cheat’s pizza base too, only I do knead. I just don’t include yeast or anything, just flour, water and a little baking powder and salt. I like them because they’re so simple and I’ll do anything not to have to buy frozen ones from the supermarket. Would have been nice to see the result!

    • These frozen crusts have turned out great. we have a few friends staying with us. They are all out working on the airplanes today so I will make a few of the frozen crust pizzas tonight.

  2. zonnah says:

    I really like this idea of freezing the crust!!

    • I figure you can buy a whole frozen pizza in the store, why not simplify it and just freeze the crust. That was I can use of things in the fridge for toppings and also fresh things out of the garden.

  3. Jane says:

    I love having the crusts in the freezer ready to go too. You can throw anything on them and it taste good. And quick too. Your dough looks very good and hearty. Would be great even as a wedge of bread with a good soup. (can you even imagine soup with all the heat now, yuck)

    • the crusts in the photo are whole wheat. Frozen crust – yes, very quick… I like that a lot. I am not sure what took me so long to figure the frozen crust thing out. The no-knead bread makes a great artisan loaf (I know you are closer to an expert at making bread than I am!) and that is what I make for our bread around here. No, no thought so hot soup at all this time of year. In fact I am starting to put ice in my water now. I roasted some Anaheim & red bell peppers this morning – some of those will go on the pizza tonight.

  4. Pingback: Finally Used the KitchenAid Mixer- It’s About Time | Sincerely, Emily

  5. Pingback: SSFC: Pizza with mushrooms, zucchini and eggplant | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

