Vicks Plant (Plectranthus purpuratus)

I bought this Vicks plant back in February when I went to Nature’s Herb Farm on the west side of San Antonio.

Vicks Plant (Plectranthus purpuratus)

I have no experience with this plant, in fact I had never heard of it until the day I bought it.

So far is it is doing well where I have planted it. It get full morning sun and is shaded in our hot South Texas afternoons.

Vicks Plant

Here is some information I found on-line about the Vicks plant.

I am glad that it is doing so well.

It is not a cold hardy plant (zone 11+) and will not survive outside in our mild winters, so I will dig it up and bring it inside as it will grow well as a house plant too.

I also understand it is easy to take a clipping and root it by simply putting the clipping in dirt. Since it is such a unique plant, what a great gift that would be. Nothing more creative than giving the gift of natural”vicks” to someone with a cold. Just steep the leaves in boil water and inhale to relive congestion. Maybe just crush them and put them in the bath with you.*

Sincerely, Emily

*I have not used this plant for any medicinal purposes yet. As with anything new, be aware that placing this in your bath may result in a not so favorable reaction. Might be best to test it by soaking your hands or your feet first for 15 minutes to see how you react before submerging your whole body in a nice warm bath and coming out with a rash.

This entry was posted in Herbs, Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vicks Plant (Plectranthus purpuratus)

  1. Zonnah says:

    That is a beautiful plant! I love plants that are useful and pretty šŸ™‚

  2. Brenda says:

    my neighbor gave me a clipping of his…put it right in the dirt and now it is a huge beautiful plant. I live in PA so it is outside in the summer and inside in the winter…I give it to everyone I know…it is a beautiful plant….

    • Hi Brenda – My plant is dong well also. I know I will have to dig it up and bring it inside this winter. Even though we have fairly mild winters, it won’t survive the freezes we do get. I am going to have to start some clipping to share at a plant swap. I have heard they take real well, thanks for verifying that.

Leave a Reply

