Making Ice Cream

I have a list of things I would like to do/make. Sometimes it takes me a while to get to some of those things. Making ice cream seemed to take forever. Even to me, that makes no sense since it is so hot here in the summer and we like ice cream. Yet it took me 15 months to FINALLY use the ice cream maker my father-in-law gave to me when I was vising him in February of 2010.

This model is Hamilton Beach 1.5 QT Ice Cream Maker. My F-I-L is famous for saving a manual for everything he owns, however, he could not find the manual for the ice cream maker. I was able to go on-line to find some recipes for this machine here.

That didn't go well (oops, I guess I can't look at something else while I am try to pour into this machine)

I didn’t start by using a recipe from the Hamilton Beach website. I started with a simple and healthy recipe that my friend in Phoenix uses.

  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups yogurt
  • 1/4 cup sugar

I remember it took her about 15-20 minutes and she had “ice cream”. After 20 minutes mine was still very very soft so I let it churn longer. Even after 30 minutes there was no change in the consistency. When I scooped it in the bowl it was melting before I had a chance to eat it. In hind sight, I really should have let it churn longer.

The culinary herb group monthly meeting was fast approaching and ice cream was the food for the night. I wanted to be creative using herbs and spices and thought about making Chai Ice Cream, using a syrup I made for making Chai Tea. Using my friends ice cream recipe from above I tried again, this time letting the ice cream maker churn longer. I still had very very soft ice cream – but it was good!

I needed to find a recipe that was going to firm up more. I don’t have any recent ice cream making experience. The last time I remember making ice cream was when we lived in Chippewa Falls, WI and I was under 10 years old….cranking and cranking and cranking. I decided to go find the recipes I had printed out for the model of my ice cream maker and go from there. I found the recipe for Peaches and Cream and went out and got the ingredients I needed.

Peaches and Cream Ice Cream

  • 1 cup chopped Peaches
  • 1/2 cup sugar – divided
  • 2 cups Heavy Cream
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Combine peaches with 1/4 cup sugar and let stand one hour.

Place mixture in food processor and pulse until peaches are coarsely chopped.

Mix in remaining ingredients and pour into ice cream maker.

Churn 20-40 minutes or until desired consistency.

I didn’t use fresh peaches, I decided to use some peach sauce that I have canned last year using peaches that I had picked in Fredericksburg, TX. I also found out the first time I made my friends recipe that I needed to have the ice cream maker churning as I poured in my ingredients otherwise the liquid starts to freeze up in the bucket and I couldn’t get the paddle moving (I guess that is why they created the hole in the top of the maker).

The ice cream turned out great! Very creamy (2 cups of heavy cream will do that !) I let the ice cream maker run about 30 minutes (+/-) and it was perfect. Everyone liked it.

Making Chai flavored Ice Cream

Now, I needed to make up a batch of ice cream using the Chai syrup to prepare for the culinary group. I used the base ingredients from the Peaches and Cream recipe and added my homemade Chai syrup to it.

Chai Ice Cream

  • 3 T Chai Syrup
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 2 cups Heavy Cream
  • 1/2 cup whole milk

Mix ingredients together

Churn until desired consistency

The Chai Ice Cream remained very soft, but it was good. The flavor was smooth and mild. While I was pleased with the flavor, I really wish it would have firmed up more. I haven’t played with all this enough to know the reason behind the “soft” vs. the “hard” ice cream. My guess is the spice mixture caused a “warming” reaction and didn’t allow the ice cream to get cold enough to firm up more. Either way, it was good.

When I cook breakfast, lunch or dinner I tend to cook/fly by the seat of my pants. When it comes to ice cream, I will stick to the recipes for this ice cream maker and see how they come out and then start to look at other peoples recipes and compare them and start to come up with some that will work. It will be fun.

Now if I could just keep a space in the freezer big enough to put the base of this ice cream maker in there so it is frozen and ready when I want to try a new recipe.

In a few days I will do a post on making the Chai Syrup and share the link to where I would the original recipe.

If you have any suggestions or recommendations that you would like to share about ice cream. Please do !!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Homemade, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Ice Cream

  1. Zonnah says:

    Homemade ice cream is sooo good. I wish I had a maker šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

