Growing Loofah’s

My loofah’s are growing really well. Last count I see 17 out there and the vines are still covered with flowers. I did a post here about their start in life.

Loofah's are really growing 26 July 2011

It is very exciting to go out and see if there are any new ones starting to form. They are so small and so cute and a few days later they are several inches in length. It is amazing and wonderful.

With all the struggles so far this year without rain, it is so nice to see something growing out there. I am more than happy to use my rain water on these loofah vines. It is worth it.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Garden, Gourds and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Growing Loofah’s

  1. Jane says:

    I cant wait to see this all the way through. It is such a neat thing!

    • I am very excited about this. There are 18 loofah’s growing out there now. I am trying hard to be patient. I take a stroll past them looking and counting them every day.

  2. Chiot's Run says:

    These look great. I tried to grow them on year, but it ended up being a cool summer – so no loofahs. Growing up in Colombia though, we often used loofahs since they grew so well down there. Some year I’ll try again!

    • Thanks. I am just giggly-thrilled with them. I can imagine how well they grew in Columbia. We definitely have good hot summers here, so as long as I water them they seem to thrive.

  3. Stephanie says:

    They look GREAT! You are going to have so much fun giving them away as homegrown, homemade presents. After I grew loofahs, I got addicted to vertical gardening, and since the summers here in eastern PA seem to be getting hotter, all these climbing heat-lovers do well: gourds (I did birdhouse last year, and this year, speckled swanneck), scalet runner and hibiscus pole beans, heavenly blue morning glories, climbing nasturtiums and sweetpea.

    • Hi Stephanie. Thank you. They do look great. I love having them on the fence. I also have some banana gourds growing on the same fence. So far they are NOT looking like their mother gourd, but maybe in time and when the start to dry…not sure.It is a first time for that type of gourd too. I had terrible luck with all nasturtiums this year and pole beans on a huge trellis didn’t do well either in our spring with no rain. Will try again, when we start getting more rain. It sounds like all your climbers are doing well.

  4. zonnah says:

    I agree with Jane, I can’t wait to see this to completion.

Leave a Reply

