B is for…

“B” is for…bouncing bountiful butterflies blow by billowing

Mooakite Jasper

Beads… I have always had a fascination with intricate bead work. In 1998 I started making beaded eggs. I didn’t know where to find good beads and stumbled into a bead store in Palm Springs. WOW! That was neat….and they were just about to start a class to make a beaded bracelet. I joined them and 5 hours later I finally made it back home with some great beads and a new bracelet. That was the beginning for my obsession with beads. I continued to take classes and bead a lot eventually making it into a business. A few years later I had a picture of one of my bracelets in a magazine and a few years after that I was beading full-time and traveling doing shows all over Southern California, a few in Northern California and some in the Tucson, Arizona area also. All of my waking hours (outside of traveling to shows) were spent beading. Beading beading beading. I loved it. I chose to give that up when we moved to Texas. I miss the energy of the shows. I miss all my beading friends. And I find I am rarely beading at all these days.

Bananagrams… I really like playing games, but it is not very often I can find anyone that wants to play. Bananagrams is a game. Sort of like scrabble but without a board and you build your own maze of words while competing with one or more people to get out of tiles first.

A sense of accomplishment

Bread… Love fresh homemade bread. I started making bread about 3 years ago. It was the start of many many changes to simplify our food. I will never look back.

Bold… On one hand I can say I am bold, on the other…not so much. Does that make sense to any of you? Do you know what I mean?

A few “B” things I like:

  • Butterflies
  • Begonia
  • Borage
  • Benches
  • Blossoms
  • Blueberries
  • Boats
  • Bogs
  • Bowls
  • Buttered buns

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to B is for…

  1. Sande says:

    Beautiful beading – and I’ve been trying to bake a bit of bread lately too. I made some Amish Friendship bread and also some yeasted hamburger buns that were pretty good but a bit flat.

    • Hi Sande. Thanks. I still love beadwork and sometimes I get a real yearning to make something, but it has been a while. I remember making the Amish friendship bread about 20 years ago. Buns are something I want to make more, but each time, they are flat or hard as a rock. I have to keep trying!!!

  2. zonnah says:

    I find it amazing how we all change so much throughout our lives.

Leave a Reply

