H is for…

H is for…

Having hormone hammered hiccups hampered heritage

Basil

Herbs…  Growing up I always remember chives growing and I would get to go our and cut them when mom wanted to use them. Mint in another herb stashed in my memory banks. Now that I have space to grow things, herbs are one of the things I started planting right away. Oregano, basil, thyme, comfrey, chives, sage. There are more herbs out there, I can’t seem to think of them right now. I find that the more herbs I grow, the more I use them. I also find that I am drying more to use throughout the winter. The smells are wonderful and the flavors even better.

Thyme

Hair… I have long hair. For most of my life my hair has been on the longer side. I learned about Locks of Love a little late in life. Locks of Love is a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the United States and Canada under age 21 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis. Once I learned about them I started growing my hair with a purpose. So far I have made 4 hair donations and I am getting ready to cut and donate soon. Even though my hair has more gray in it than it did when I first started…they will still take it. The only hair they don’t take is bleached hair. They need 10″ long hair to use in hairpieces for the children, but will take any length.  I know with the gray in my hair they will sell it and use the funds to keep their organization going. That makes me happy. My only regret is that I didn’t start doing this in my 20’s.  If you are thinking of getting your hair cut, even if it is just 4″, please consider donating it to Locks of Love.  Head over their website to read the rules… they can’t use hair that is swept up off the floor. It needs to be in a pony tail (or many little pony tails) for them to be able to put it to good use.

Horse manure…  ahh, horse manure. 20 years ago, I used to smile about new clothes or purse. Now, Horse manure makes me smile. I did a post here back in January about the fresh horse manure I pick up. In a few weeks I will go get another load. Very Exciting.

Handwriting… In the beginning of high school I started writing backwards….yes you read the correctly – backwards. I can’t remember the “why” behind it, all I can tell you is that I can do it, and really without much thought. I recently started writing to one of my nieces backwards. She is  8 years old and is very fascinated with it. At first she thought that I was writing things out normal, then using another piece of paper to trace it backwards. That theory didn’t fly when I wrote on a card made of thick card stock. She just couldn’t stand it and had to ask how I did that. I don’t have a very good explanation to how, I just do it. I am even surprised to see how good the writing looks when I hold it up the mirror to inspect it. That is how my niece can read my cards – she holds them up to the mirror.

H is for...Handwriting Backwards

Other nice H’s:

  • Harbor
  • Humus (yum)
  • Harvest
  • Hone
  • Heart
  • Hollandaise sauce (another yum)
  • Happenstance
  • Hum
  • Haphazard
  • Homestead
  • Hone
  • Honest
  • Hangar (for an airplane)
  • Hoves
  • Hoop earrings

Happy “H” words to you all

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to H is for…

  1. zonnah says:

    The writing backwards is totally weird and completely awesome 🙂

  2. Joanna says:

    Herbs! Why didn’t I think of that one… how clever. We grow herbs, some years some more successfully than others. I am very fond of wild fennel plants because they get so big and I have been trying to collect the pollen this year, I think I’ve got a teaspoonful so far – hee hee.

    I watched a programme about people selling their hair once, it was very strange; your hair project sounds like it’s really worthwhile and special. Do you write backwards with the same hand that you write forwards with or do you swap?

    • Hi Joanna, I am right handed with my “normal” writing and when I write backwards I use my right hand also. It sort of feels like it has when I have tried to write with my left hand. I should try the left handed things again and see how it goes now that I am doing so many things with my left hand. wild fennel pollen collecting – now that is interesting…..save that one for “W”!

  3. Pingback: I feel a breeze on the back of my neck! | Sincerely, Emily

  4. Pingback: … and whiskers on kittens | Sincerely, Emily

  5. Pingback: … and whiskers on kittens « Not Dabbling In Normal

Leave a Reply

