I is for… and J is for…

I is for…

Ice ingots illustrated in isolated instruments

Impatient… I can be impatient at times. Actually I can be very patient about some things and very impatient about other things.

Introspective… This Alphabet in August has been very introspective…Patient, Impatient. clutter,  efficient, falter…and I am only in the I’s! I yeye ie ieieie.

Image… Image is not something I dwell on anymore. When I was 10 years old we moved from a small town in Wisconsin to a metropolitan suburban neighborhood in Minnesota. I remember getting picked on for the clothes I wore. Up until that point, I don’t ever remember putting much thought into my clothes. I remember liking the clothes or outfits I had, but I don’t remember any of my friends at the elementary school Wisconsin ever talking about clothes or who wore what. So there I was in a new school and I didn’t fit in. I wasn’t wearing the right clothes and everyone was talking about it. They didn’t even know me, but they decided I didn’t fit in solely based on my clothes.  I know that is when things started changing. Maybe if I had stayed in Wisconsin at the school I was at things would have changed too, just not in 4th grade, it might have happened a few years later. As time went on, I remember wanting certain clothes, alternating jeans or cords and tops,  worrying about my hair, etc. It is amazing to think back and remember how “important” those things were back then in elementary school, junior high, high school and even college. I half-laugh because I am so far from those thoughts and feelings now that it is amazing. I am not real sure how outsiders “see” me. I don’t really care. I don’t color my hair to try to hang onto my youth and hide the gray. There is dirt under my fingernails at times, I leave the house without mascara regularly. I know I won’t be on the cover of any fashion magazine, and I certainly am not trying to be and don’t want to be. The saying “image is everything” is an interesting one. I have a friend who is a realtor and he keeps up the image with the expensive car and clothes – but he would do that whether he was a realtor or not, that is just him. I have another friend who is married to a high power executive and she feels she can’t do this or that because of how it “looks.” Wow, what a way to live. The image I hope I portray is happy, healthy, and friendly. I don’t need an expensive car to live, I don’t need the latest expensive gadget, and I don’t need to choose my friends based on how it looks to everyone else. I am happy with who I am. Introspective..yup.

Interesting I’s:

  • Inconspicuous
  • Indifferent
  • Ice
  • Imagine
  • Identity
  • Inkling
  • Impressionistic
  • Idiosyncrasy
  • Ibis
  • Iota
  • Intervene
  • Impossible

J is for…

Jeopardy… Years ago, every now and then we would watch the game show Jeopardy. I would get an answer correct sometimes, it would depend on the category. If if was a category I knew, then I was fine. My husband on the other hand would get tons right. Wheel of Fortune – I am really good at that one.

Other Jammin’ J’s:

  • Jamboree
  • Juxtapose
  • Junction
  • Jellybean
  • Jam
  • Junco
  • Jupiter
  • Jubilee
  • Julie, Jane, Jennifer, Juanita
  • Jump rope

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I is for… and J is for…

  1. Jane says:

    Interesting I’s Ice. Haha, I though that was just in our house 🙂

  2. Joanna says:

    I agree it is certainly fostering introspection and I am really enjoying reading your posts. I can hear your voice so loud and clear and matter of fact. Beautiful writing 🙂

  3. zonnah says:

    Keeping up with the Jones, not my cup of tea!

Leave a Reply

