N is for…

N is for…

Napkins… Using cloth napkins, for me, is part of making a conscious effort to reduce waste. Most of the napkins we use are ones that I have made. Although I must admit I have found several sets of wonderful old linen napkins at estate and garage sales that we also use.

Norwegian… My Gramps was a full-blooded Norwegian. Mom is 1/2 and my brother and I are 1/4. I grew up going to lutefisk and lefsa (also spelled lefse) dinners at local churches in the area. My Gramps would scarf that lutefisk down and ask for seconds. Mom still makes it to one of those dinners once a year and gets a craving every now and then. I will confess that I don’t think I have ever eaten lutefisk, which, by the way, means “lye fish” (maybe I could use the left over lye sauce and make a lutefisk soap – ya you betcha). Lefsa, now that is a different story. YUM YUM. I have even made lefsa and I must tell you that I can eat it fast then I could make it. Some people eat it with butter and brown sugar. For me it is plain or butter and salt.

Nun… I grew up in a small town in Wisconsin. In our small little neighborhood there was a convent, complete with nuns in habits. My best friend, Jane, and I would visit them often. We always went to the kitchen door and Sister Ravina would give us cookies and little trinkets. One time she gave me the cutest little mouse and cheese salt and pepper shaker. The mouses foot slips into the wedge of cheese and sat there. I still have that set at our cabin in Wisconsin.

Notebooks… I always carry a little notebook in my purse. one page is dedicated to the grocery list and other things I need to look for. I just keep erasing and replacing until the sheet is thread bare. It is always nice to have paper with me and the little notebooks are the answer for me. I also have them strewn across the house. On the counter, kitchen table, desk, etc. The other paper is use is the backs of envelopes that come in the mail. Those get used for lists of things to do or the list of places I need to stop on my errand route. Since I don’t go out very often, the last thing I want to do is forget somewhere that I need to go.

Other Notable N’s:

  • Nocturnal
  • Nincompoop
  • Nuzzle
  • Nectar
  • Nonconformity
  • Night
  • Nostalgic
  • Nasal
  • Natural

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to N is for…

  1. Joanna says:

    I’m very interested in lefse, as I have never tried them and they look lovely! Do you have a favourite recipe for them? Do you also make those circle ring cakes that stack up? Kransekage? Patrick who runs Bakery Bits in England (artisan bread website) is half Norwegian too and I was hoping he would be able to get the rings for his store. One of the things that is frustrating baking here is that lots of things get exported to the States from Europe which we can’t get here, I guess because it’s a bigger market in the States.

    I like your N’s, they sound very familiar to me ! Shouldn’t read them before I do one I guess 🙂

    • My God Parents make lefse every year. I have made it with them before. When I arrive, they already have made up the sough the day before to save time. Then later in the evening we all sit down to a huge Swedish meatball, gravy, mashed potatoes and fresh lefse dinner. I will see if I can get their recipe for you. The whole process is time consuming, but it is neat to keep a tradition a love. We missed making it last year because my god father is ill. Maybe he will be up to making them this winter, or at least watching us. I have never made Kransekake, but I surely have enjoyed eating them. My mom used to get Rosette’s (fried Norwegian pastry/cookie) from a bakery in Minneapolis during the holidays. I have a vague memory of her making those with other people when I was very young. I know I am a day ahead in my letters. I am leaving tomorrow for two weeks and I am just trying to get the postings lined up to post. I hope to have some access to a computer while I am away, but who knows.

  2. zonnah says:

    I love writing my lists on paper. I have tried to go the digital method, mainly because my husband suggested it, but it just is not the same.

    • I am very much a paper list person. I am using the notebook on my phone a bit more. especially when I am the neighbors and I want to remember to get something for them or bring something to them from my house. But paper is bes for me

Leave a Reply

