O is for…

O is for…

Observant… I take in things around me all the time. Mostly aware of what is happening around me. Mindful of other people when I am out and about. I am the lady that moves her shopping cart off to the side so others can easily maneuver around me. There are times it bugs me when I can’t get around someone, therefore I figure I don’t want that done to me, so I won’t do it.

Oboe… I still have to wait until later in the alphabet to reveal the main instrument I played throughout elementary, junior and most of high school. In 10th grade I decided I didn’t want to play that main (elusive at this point) instrument. All the kids in the band were having much more fun so I decided I wanted to join the band. I had one friend in band and she played the clarinet. So three of us approached the band teacher and told him we wanted to join. He decided what instruments he needed and we each started learning how to play them. One friend was assigned the french horn, she thought it was pretty cool how you opened a valve and blew your spit out onto the floor. The other friend started leaning how to play the bassoon. My new instrument was the oboe. There was only one other oboe player in the band and she was a senior so very soon I was left on my own. I think picked it up pretty quickly and soon found myself paying a solo at end of the year during graduation. The band was fun and so was the pops concert we did full of music and skits and singing. Those were great memories.

Odor… This is probably too much information. I am still trying to find a natural deodorant, either store bought or homemade, that works for me without giving me a rash. Hence, the odor. So far, I seem to be the only one who can smell it (I hope!)

Other O’s:

  • Ogle
  • Okra
  • Oleander
  • Oatmeal
  • Opaque
  • Occasional
  • Outcrop
  • Overt
  • Orthopedic
  • Oregano

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to O is for…

  1. Joanna says:

    It’s good to be observant and mindful of other people and their space, it’s easiest to do when you are on your own I find, and less so if your attention is taken up in part by a companion, whether driving or navigating around the supermarket. Do you still play the oboe? As to the odor thing that’s a tricky one, if everything gives you a rash. Good luck on your quest 🙂

    • Yes, more distracted with a companion. And more so with a companion the older I get. Reflexes are not the same. No, I do not play the oboe anymore. Not since I turned in my insturment the day I graduated high school. That was so much fun. the band was a fun group in highschool. Odor. hmmm thanks for sending luck my way on that one.

  2. zonnah says:

    Now I really want to know what the other instrument is!

Leave a Reply

