I feel a breeze on the back of my neck!

I have been wanting to cut my hair for a long time. It was getting pretty scraggly and lifeless, and in desperate need of a trim (which I kept putting off and off). It is so easy to just stick it in  bun or french braid it, why would I want to take the time to trim it? I have talked about cutting my hair and donating it to Locks of Love here.

Getting ready for a hair cut

I thought it would be a good idea to cut my hair with my nieces when we were all at the cabin in Wisconsin a few weeks ago. I know I have talked to them about how I have cut my hair and donated it to Locks of Love, but I thought the process would have more of an impact if we did it together.

I always seem to get a bit hesitant when it comes to follow through with the cutting part. This time was no different. It took me a few days to realize (as usual) this was no big deal. My hair grows pretty fast and it would grow back (like it has the past four times I have done this.) So the announcement was made and my nieces were excited, but really more intrigued I think.

I divided my hair into two pony tails and rounded up the scissors and camera. My mom was the designated “cutter.”  Mom started cutting and cutting and cutting and didn’t seem to be making any progress. It is a funny soun to hear your hair being cut and cut and cut, like she was sawing and sawing. My nieces finally called my brother up from the lake to take over, mom was only half way through the first ponytail and I was getting nervous.

With my bother heading cross the lawn asking us what the problem was, mom traded sciccors and started to cut again. In two short snips the first pony tail was removed. Apparently the first scissors was VERY dull.

My brother still hasn’t figured out what we are up to until he gets to the top step on the deck. Now he has that “look” on his face. You know, the one with confusion (what’s going on here?), disbelief (are you really cutting your hair off?) and really (really, you are really cutting your hair off)?! all in one look.

WOW! 10" of hair GONE!

When all the cutting is done I always seem to say the same thing. “Why didn’t I do this a few months ago?” I forget how much the length of my hair weighs it down and how thin it feels. It feels so good to have bounce in my hair. It feels so good to have nice trim ends. It just feels good.

I have mailed off my hair to Locks of Love knowing they can’t use it for a wig because of all the gray in my hair, but feeling good because they can sell it to help fund their organization.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I feel a breeze on the back of my neck!

  1. Jane says:

    Looks good! Humph, they dont want grey hairs? I thought they colored the hair anyway when they processed the wigs. Oh well, I guess only we can enjoy our ‘experienced’ hair.

    • “experienced hair” – I like it. Hair with wisdom! As I look at the photo of my hair from behind I can see the color change as it grew out. When I was young I had white blond hair and as I aged and was out of the sun more and more my hair turned brown. Now, in that photo, I can see it is even getting darker with signs of more gray. It is also becoming more curly too. It is interesting to watch the changes.

  2. zonnah says:

    Awesome! I almost have ten inches and then me and my sister are going to do the same thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

