Zucchini Pickles

My parents garden was overflowing with fresh vegetables when I was visiting them a few weeks ago in Minnesota. My mom and I were sorting through recipes and I came across a recipe she had torn out of a magazine for zucchini pickles. With several rather large zucchini on the counter I thought it would be a perfect recipe to try.

Preparing Zucchini Pickles

This is a very easy straight forward recipe. It reminds me a lot of another recipe I have for refrigerator mustard cucumber pickles which are also very good.

Zucchini Pickles

1 lb zucchini – sliced very thin
1 medium onion – sliced very thin
2 cups apple cider vinegar
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp dry mustard
1 1/2 tsp slightly crushed mustard seeds
scant 1 tsp ground turmeric

combine zucchini and onion in a large bowl
add salt and toss
add a few ice cubes and enough water to cover zucchini and onions
let stand at room temp until zucchini are slightly salty
(about 1 hour)

In a sauce pan, combine vinegar and sugar, dry mustard and mustard seeds and turmeric over med heat simmer for 3 minutes

Remove from heat and let stand until warm-to-the-touch

Drain zucchini and onions

Allow to drain to remove as much moisture as you can

You can either put zucchini and onion in sterilized jars and pour warm brine over the top
or
You can put zucchini and brine in a bowl to combine, then put into sterilized jars

Put you lid on and allow to cool on counter
Put in refrigerator

Allow pickles to sit in refrigerator for 2 days to allow flavors to mingle and develop.

Your zucchini pickles will keep for 3 months in air tight container

I decided to double the brine recipe, however I forgot to double the amount of zucchini I sliced, so I just ended up putting the extra brine in pint jars for my parents to add sliced zucchini or cucumbers to later.

Zucchini Pickles

We all agreed, this recipe is a “keeper”; these pickles we a bit hit and worth making again.  While I haven’t been able to successfully grow any zucchini this year (you can read about that drama here), I will certain file this recipe away for the years to come when I am overrun by zucchini (hopefully!)

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Herbs, Homemade, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Zucchini Pickles

  1. Joanna says:

    These sound like something I must try. We love pickles! I make a refrigerator pickle sometimes with dill and cucumber slices, but I haven’t done it for a while now. This is a good prompt to think pickle 🙂

  2. Sande says:

    I make a zesty zucchini relish every year and this year discovered that I like zucchini pickles better than cucumber ones. Hope you enjoy yours.

  3. zonnah says:

    What is the texture like?

    • Even though I sliced the zucchini very thin, they had more meat to them then the refrigerator cucumber pickles I make. The zucchini pickle didn’t hold its shape, but it had a nice crunch to it.

  4. Pingback: Zucchini Bread | Sincerely, Emily

  5. Pingback: SSFC: Cucumbers and Zucchini | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

