Fighting Ragweed Allergies

Last year I learned a few natural ways to help combat allergic reactions to some of the things that grow here in South Texas where we live. The first thing I learned was about making a tea to help ease the effects of the cedar pollen. It truly worked miracles for us, especially my husband who has suffered terrible in the past. It will soon be time to make this tea again as cedar season approaches and I will write up a post as we get closer to that time.

**Disclaimer** I am not a medical expert or have any training in this area. These are things I am trying and have had success with. I do not know enough about this to advise you on side effects or other areas of treatment. Be sure to do your own research and see what will work best for you **

The other allergy remedy I learned about was to make a tea to help ease the effects of  ragweed. I have not been able to find ragweed growing near our house, even though I know it grows here. I think this tea should have been make in the beginning of July, but I thought I would go ahead with it anyway since I found ragweed growing plentifully near our cabin in Wisconsin.

Ragweed

For ragweed allergies one can eat a small portion of the raw weed, but it taste terrible.

Most people prefer to make a tea of the plant leaf.

Ragweed leaves

Place one crumbled large leaf (about the size of a hand or larger ) in a pot or glass and pour two cups of boiling water over the leaf.  The leaves that I found in Wisconsin were very small, maybe if I can find a plant in Texas next year they will be bigger (the size of a hand! YIKES! That is a big plant))

Allow the leaf to soak for thirty minutes and then remove the leaf.

Making ragweed tea

Sip or drink one cup of the liquid.

You can add some wild honey to the tea, but do not add more than a quarter teaspoon.

For those among you who don’t care for the taste, if you prefer, you can mix one cup of the liquid ragweed tea (no honey) with other green teas and drink.

This is said to protect you from the majority of symptoms one gets from ragweed exposure.

Even though I should have done this in July, I am glad that I did it now. I will admit, the tea didn’t taste great, but I managed to get through it. The first half of the cup wasn’t too bad, but I had a hard time finishing it. I will drink it down quicker next year.

I will be keeping my eye out for a remedy like this for the oak pollen we have here.

Mother Earth News has a nice article on line called 6 Natural Allergy Remedies that has some other good information about fighting allergies in general.

Do you have any natural remedies that you use for allergies that you would like to share?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Homemade, Miscellaneous, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fighting Ragweed Allergies

  1. annie says:

    We eat local honey to help with allergies. I don’t know if it is working or not (my husband thinks so) but it is yummy! On our property we have Giant Ragweed. This species grows enormous. Our tallest have been around 12 feet.

    • Hi Annie, Yes! Local honey. My husband does that too. I have never seen this Giant Ragweed you talk about. I need to go in search of it so I can make this concoction with local ragweed. That would certainly be a sight to see it 12′ tall!

  2. zonnah says:

    I am going to take a look at that artical.

  3. diana says:

    Hello I’m not trying to scare anyone, but if your allergic to something and you drink too much of it you can go into anaphylaxis (shock). I think it might be safer to get the allergy shots and have a doctor measure the amount you are taking in your body. Even then I still have to carry an epi-pen in case of shock. It’s very dangerous to self-administer an allergen, but i guess if it works for you then you must not be taking too much of it. Still i wouldn’t take a chance myself, I am extremely allergic to ragweed. The shots are awesome for me.

    • Hi Diana, thank you for your comment. I am glad that you have found a way to treat your allergies that works for you. My allergies are moderate and tend to vary quite a bit while my husbands allergies to ragweed and other things are quit extreme. We have both used allergy shots as a way to help control our allergies for many many years and at different points in our life. It really has been hit and miss and so we and have decided to try alternative ways to control our allergies and we are having much better results. I feel much better eating something natural and fresh to help work at the allergy than something synthetically manufactured being put into my body. With anything you put into your body, whether by eating it or a shot/pill at the doctor’s office, there is always a chance of an allergic reaction or other side effect. It is never wise to just wander around outside and eat just anything until you have positively identified it and even then try it in small quantities until you know how you personally react to it (whether it is wild mustard or ragweed.) And that doesn’t even begin to touch on the pesticides and other chemical that are being sprayed on produce you buy in the grocery store that affect your whole body including allergies. Again, thank you for your comment and as a fellow allergy sufferer, I am glad that you have found something that is working for you.

      • diana says:

        I was actually going to try eating what i’m allergic to at one point but i am allergic to a lot including cockroach dander so i don’t see that happening lol. I also heard that eating or drinking helps more but there are more risks with asthma which I have. Maybe someday I will try your tea If I do a little more research.

  4. Rob says:

    I wonder if the honey you mixed with the ragweed is actually the active ingredient. I have suffered with terrible ragweed allergies for most of life. This year I have been taking one teaspoon of unpasteurized local honey with my tea daily and have hardly sneezed despite record-breaking pollen counts.

    • Hi Rob – thanks for your comment. We both take raw honey to help with allergies, but my husband still has a hard time with cedar and ragweed season when they roll around so I continue to try other things to get some relief. That is fantastic that the unpasteurized honey has worked so well for you. I know it does for several of my friends. Thanks for sharing about the honey and how it is working for you!

  5. Liz Smith says:

    Hi Emily,
    Thank you for this post. I suffer from ragweed allergies, so I really wanted to try this. After a couple hours of research, I gathered some common ragweed near my place in WI, but I dried the leaves (and some blossoms) first. However, I got a bit of a scare when I found out that Conium maculatum (poison hemlock) which grows in my area has similar leaves, though the stem and flowers are quite different. Since I didn’t want to take any chances, I tossed all the ragweed leaves and just used one sprig of blossoms in a test-tea. I had a few sips, and then went back to work. However, I began to not feel well, even dizzy, so I wonder if I had an allergic reaction to even the dried ragweed tea? Has anyone heard of this happening?

  6. Cathy says:

    I just picked the pollinated rag weed three different types and boiled them. I used the honey comb from my area and let it cool . Then i strained it and took a shot of it. So far I feel the same . Will let you know tomorrow.
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

