Making “Italian Seasonings”

I used to buy an “Italian Seasoning” spice mix. It was a nice blend and I used it a lot.

The label read:

  • Marjoram
  • Thyme
  • Rosemary
  • Savory
  • Sage
  • Oregano
  • Basil

WOW! I grow most of those.  When I posted about some croutons I made, I used “Herbs de Provence” and it was then I realized that I needed to add Marjoram and Savory to my herb garden so I can make my own mixed spiced.

Spring has come and gone and we are in a pretty bad drought here in South Texas. I never did get any marjoram planted. I did get some savory planted, but that along with everything else I planted this spring it is not doing well at all. This was the spring I made a big push to get a lot of perennials planted and it has been a bad year to do that. In the mean time, I have some dried herbs from last year and I have ordered some others from Mountain Rose Herbs.

I have started mixing up some of my own “Italian Herbs.”

Italian Spice mixture

For my Italian-style seasonings I used equal parts:

  • Basil
  • Oregano
  • Rosemary
  • Thyme
  • Sage

The only herb missing in my cupboard is marjoram. For now, I will do without it, but will add it to my list of dry herbs to order get I place an order.

Every time I make something myself I am reminded of how many things I can do and often how really very easy it is to do. The only down side is finding storage space for all those bulk herbs, dried beans and bags of flour. That is not a complaint, just an observation. I wouldn’t go back to buying boxed food or pre-mixed seasoning for anything.

Do you have any herb/spice blend recipes that you make?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Herbs, Homemade, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Making “Italian Seasonings”

  1. Dani says:

    Cool – thanks very much, Emily 🙂

  2. What is savory? Is that an Americanism for something else? This is such an awesome idea btw. I dry my own rosemary – I locate bushes around my town and go around picking it and allowing it to dry 😀 Our garden rosemary didn’t grow properly 😦

    • I don’t know much about the herb savory, but I don’t think it is an “Americanism” it is an actual herb (related to rosemary) I know there is a summer savory (annual) and a winter savory (perennial). Here is a link with some basic information. It says savory plays an important part in Italian cooking, especially when paired with beans. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Savory_%28genus%29. I like the way you find & harvest your rosemary. That is a great way to do it. Rosemary grows really well were I live and I use rosemary a lot, so I just need to remember to keep cutting and drying so I will never run out. Rosemary plants live approximately 7 years here, so I will also remember in a few more year to plant some new plants so I am never without.

  3. Jane says:

    Love the picture of all the spices. It looks like one of those apothecary stores and you can mix me up a remedy.

  4. Pingback: I think I have a problem | Sincerely, Emily

  5. zonnah says:

    I should try this!

  6. Maria says:

    I am so excited to think I have all these spices in my cupboard! I can make the italian seasoning blend.

    • OH YES! It is quite the thrill. Seriously. It is so easy and great to make it instead of buy it! If you had any of my pasta salad today (no meat, pasta, broc, cauliflower and red pepers) I made the Italian dressing with the Italian herb blend… I better do a post on that…. sorry, didn’t mean to tease you!

  7. Pingback: Making Crackers: It’s About Time !! | Sincerely, Emily

  8. Pingback: Make your own: Ginger Beer « Not Dabbling In Normal

  9. Pingback: Make your own curry powder | Sincerely, Emily

  10. Pingback: Making Bread Crumbs | Sincerely, Emily

  11. Pingback: Making Taco Seasoning Mix: It’s about time! | Sincerely, Emily

  12. Pingback: Blooming Right Now: Rosemary (Rosemary officinales) | Not Dabbling In Normal

Leave a Reply

