Zucchini Bread

Part of my recent trip was spent at my mom’s house in Minnesota. I spent a lot of time baking and putting things in the freezer for them. The garden was producing zucchini and I posted here about the zucchini pickles I made. I also made several loaves of zucchini bread.

I used a recipe from my grandma’s recipe box and got to work.

Fresh warm Zucchini Bread

Zucchini Bread

  • 1 cup Oil
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • 3 Eggs
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 T Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 3 tsp Vanilla
  • 2 Cups Zucchini, grated
  • 1/2 cup Nuts (optional)

Beautiful

We all had a piece before I wrapped up the last loaf and put it in the freezer.

A few weeks have gone by and my mom called me the other day. She told me a neighbor at our cabin had made some zucchini bread with one of the large zucchini’s from my parents garden. My mom had to let me know that the neighbors zucchini bread was the best she had even had (don’t tell Gram!)

I still need to make up a batch, but thought I better share the recipe with you. I had to laugh because they are virtually the same recipes. The only real difference that I see is that our neighbors recipe has added 1 T of cinnamon and the zucchini is grated before it is grated. Other than that, I can’t see much difference. It is possible that mine might have been a bit more dry.

Neighbor’s Zucchini Bread

  • 1 cup Oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 2 cups peeled zucchini
  • 1 cup nuts, chopped

Bake 1 hour at 325F degrees.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Bread, Food, Homemade, Minnesota, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Zucchini Bread

  1. Jane says:

    Oh no, dueling recipes! I see a cook off coming on. I am left with only frozen zucchini, but would love to try this recipe. I shall let you know what wrench frozen zucchini throws into the mix too.

    • No cook off without zucchini for me. I have planted some more seeds and will try to battle the dreaded vine borers. Maybe I will have better luck with a fall planting. I am dreaming of zucchini bread, grilled zucchini and other zucchini delights.

  2. This looks really awesome. Perhaps one for my stunning new loaf tin 😀 It’s actually made of tin!

  3. Joanna says:

    Hee hee, nothing like a recipe challenge. I made the one from chocolate and zuchhini’s blog and I made it with butter though lots of people make with oil like you. I think yours looks golden and delicious and I vote for yours 😀

  4. zonnah says:

    Yum! I love zucchini bread.

  5. Pingback: Muffins: Zucchini (courgette) – Round 1 | Sincerely, Emily

  6. Pingback: Zucchini “Things” « Not Dabbling In Normal

Leave a Reply

