Pumpkin Bread

I decided to go through an old recipe box that I had. Since my trip to Minnesota and Wisconsin, I seem to want to bake a few things. I do not have a sweet tooth, but my mom does and so does my husband. I realized that when I baked the molasses cookies at my mom’s house, I have not baked anything sweet in a very long time. I couldn’t tell you when the last times was that I actually baked cookies. Maybe eight years or ten years.

Looks good....tastes good too!

So through the recipe box I went finding and remembering things I haven’t looked at in a long long time. Most of the things are written in my writing because I went through old family recipes and re-wrote them for my box. At the time I was really into the colored calligraphy pens.

I still have a few cans of pumpkin in the cupboard so when I saw the recipe for pumpkin bread, I thought it was just the thing to make.

The ingredients were simple and I had everything on hand

Pumpkin Bread

  • 4 Eggs, beaten
  • 3 cups Sugar
  • 1 cup salad Oil
  • 2 cups Pumpkin
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground Ginger
  • 3  1/2 cups Flour

Mix together beaten eggs, sugar, salad oil and pumpkin.

Sift together dry ingredients.

Add dry ingredients alternating with water.

Divide into 2 large greased loaf pans and 1 smaller greased loaf pan.

Bake 350F for 1 hour.

Pumpkin, eggs, sugar and oil mixture

Reading through recipe, I imagine “salad oil” is vegetable oil. I do not have any vegetable oil in the house. My choices were between olive oil and coconut oil. I decided to use the extra virgin coconutoil that I ordered from Tropical Traditions.

The sifter took to much time to use

As I was using my sifter I realized there has to be a quicker way so I switched to a wire mesh strainer and things went a lot faster.

This sifter worked better

I didn’t know how much to fill the loaf pans, so I did what I have done with other recipes – filled them half full. That filled two normal-sized loaf pans for me, no need for the addition small loaf pan. The bread did take longer to cook in my oven. I continued to cook the bread until a toothpick came out clean i the center.

Going in the oven

The pumpkin bread turned out wonderful. I let it cool for a few hours, but I still found it too soft to cut into slices. It cut a lot better after it was in the refrigerator and cold.

I will definitely make this bread again and add some chopped nuts to the mix. I can also see adding chopped dates or raisins to this bread too. I would even try baking it into muffins. I used canned pumpkin for this recipe, but I will try it using pumpkin that I cooked and froze last fall and I will add clove to this recipe and increase the amounts of cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg to bump up the flavor more.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Bread, Food, Homemade, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pumpkin Bread

  1. Joanna says:

    What a lovely step by step post. I use the sifter thing just for sprinkling flour over the worktop when working with dough and I always use a sieve to sift flour and icing (confectioners) sugar. I saw American canned pumpkin in the shops the other day and wondered what one could use if for, apart from pie, now I know! This looks excellent and very autumnal. If you get bored with these sweet breads (you said you didn’t have that much of a sweet tooth) can I recommend a lovely cheese and bacon bit bread raised with baking powder that is fast and yummy too? I wrote about one here http://zebbakes.com/2010/10/11/cheese-and-bacon-quick-bread/

    • I recently made pop overs and loved them. Just found a recipe for corn & chive pop overs that I NEED to try. Now here you are tempting me with a cheese and bacon bread. OH MY GOSH! It looks wonderful. I would eat the whole loaf (that is dangerous). Thank you.

  2. zonnah says:

    I wish I did not have a sweet tooth like you 🙂
    This bread sounds yummy and am going to have to try it.

Leave a Reply

