Banana or Writing Spider (argioge aurantia)

I haven’t seen many spiders around this year with the drought. A few days ago I was at the neighbors and spotted this beauty.

Writing or Banana Spider (argioge aurantia)

The Writing or Banana spiders are a pretty good size spider. With body and legs they spread out bigger than a silver dollar. She had a stunning web made and she was in the typical head downward position.

I will check on her from time to time to see if she has an egg sack.

I had one on our fence earlier this spring, but haven’t seen her lately

The only bad encounter that I have had with these guys is when I have been mowing the lawn (riding lawn mower) in the back-forty and go through one of the large webs at upper body level. Not my favorite things to do for two reasons. One: I don’t want to be that up-front and personal with a spider that size. Two: Spiders do good work eating bugs and insects that I don’t want to intentionally disrupt their web and nest.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Banana or Writing Spider (argioge aurantia)

  1. Joanna says:

    She’s beautiful but best outside! We have almost Texan weather here, 1st October and it’s really hot. I don’t remember it ever being this hot at this time of year, it’s usually cool and damp. All spiders are politely asked to leave our house and do fly catching duty outside…. πŸ˜€

    • Yes – outside is best. Wow – hot weather for you this time of year is strange. we have cooled down a bit. Upper 80’s today. Summer and heat aren’t over for us yet, but high 80’s is a treat.

  2. Xan says:

    I had a lovely black widow drop out of the leek flower head I was harvesting right onto my hand this morning. eek.

    • eek is right! We had a lot of black widows when we lived in Palm Springs, CA. I know we have them here in TX, I just haven’t seen any. My least favorite is the brown recluse…was bit by one many years ago. Had a hard time getting the bit under control Not fun. Still, spiders do such good work in the garden, eating insects. They are nice to have around. I just respect their space when I see them.

  3. zonnah says:

    As soon as wingnut saw the pictures he said, “Wow!”
    Thanks for sharing them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

