Mediterranean Kale Salad

I had a wonderful Mediterranean Kale salad earlier this summer. It made me long for more kale in the garden. Our summers are just too hot for the kale to flourish out there, so I am looking forward to planting more soon in the fall and winter gardens.

I do not know the origins of this salad to give the proper credit.

Mediterranean Kale Salad

Mediterranean Kale

2 small bunches kale (long stemmed curly)
2 T extra virgin olive oil (evoo)
2 T fresh lemon or lime juice
1/2 tsp salt
1 red bell pepper
1/4 C walnuts or pine nuts
1/4 C olives of choice
cucumber
avocado

Stack 2 of kale leaves and roll them up to make a long kale “cigar”.

Slice crosswise into thin strips.

Repeat with the remaining leaves.

Chop the strips crosswise a few times, so they aren’t too long.

All the kale chopped up

Place in a mixing bowl along with the evoo, juice and salt.

Massage well with your hands working the dressing into the kale

(tough part’s getting it off your fingers)

Add remaining ingredients and mix.

Serve at room temp.

My comments:

  • I added more salad dressing (olive oil & lemon juice)
  • I would add more chopped peppers and other veg (like cucumbers) next time
  • More olive wouldn’t hurt either.
  • this salad lasted a long time in the refrigerator
  • I will make it again (looking forward to cooler temps and kale growing in the garden)

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Homemade, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mediterranean Kale Salad

  1. Jane says:

    That looks wonderful, and since I have most of the ingredients on hand I do believe that it will be on the dinner menu. Thank you.

  2. Joanna says:

    I’ve never eaten kale type greens raw, I always imagined they would be a bit coarse and chewy, yours look different from the sort we get here, and maybe young and tender it is more delicate. Sometimes when I remember, I dry fry walnuts, pumpkin seeds and a few spices like fennel seed and coriander in a pan until they start to turn colour, then turn the heat off and pour a little oil over, so that the oil warms in the pan but doesn’t get too hot, the flavours go into the oil and then you can drizzle the whole lot over your salad or over your green veggies or potatoes. Yum !

    • The kale I grew last year is called Russian Kale (or Russian Red Kale.) The leaves are more skeleton-like and I put those into salads. There are other types of kale with longer full leaves (some flat, some curly) and they do get thick and course the bigger they get. For salads, I pick them young and they are more tender. Chopping them and then cooking or sauteing them works for me when the get thick and course. Putting them into spaghetti sauce and soups/stews and stir frys too.

      I love your description of the toasted walnuts and pumpkin seeds with fennel and coriander. I can smell those fragrant spices and in the warm oil – oh how wonderful on salads. Thank you for sharing that tip…I am going to have to remember to do that when the lettuce starts to grow and we are eating tons of salad greens. I use fennel seed a lot in the burger or sausage when I brown it. Love the flavour it adds (and crushed red pepper too)

  3. Pingback: Kale Chips: It’s about time | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

