RAIN! It RAINED!

What a wonderful thing. Rain!

3 inches in 24 hours

October is bringing us some wonderful rain. It started raining Saturday morning.

I don my rain jacket and go out and manage the rain barrels throughout the day. I don’t have an overflow system on my tanks so I manage it if I am home by attaching garden hoses to them and opening up the faucets to let the water go on a tree that needs the water desperately. I watch the rain and the tank level, opening and closing as the rain slows so our tanks stay topped off.

I have found myself just standing out in the yard just watching the rain, with water dripping off the brim of my hat.

I woke up several times throughout the night and heard the rain. What a wonderful sound.

I went out to check the rain gauge this morning and found it it was just shy of 3 inches. While I was out there it started raining again and the rain gauge is now up to 3 inches.

That is a nice Texas-sizes rain and luckily it spread itself over a 24 hour period instead of being a gully washer like it is most of the time.

Let the weeding begin (I sure haven’t missed that this summer without rain)

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Fallen Oak, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to RAIN! It RAINED!

  1. Dani says:

    Isn’t it funny how rain always seems to cleanse the soul. Nothing nicer than a good downpour to put the world to rights, I find 🙂

  2. Joanna says:

    What joy! I bet Mr Toad is having a good scrub up somewhere 🙂

  3. karenish says:

    Oh, fantastic! Here’s hoping it continues to rain, slowly for a while, until everything is nice and refreshed!

    • Today was cloudy,but no rain. The clouds are so nice. they give us a break from the strong sun. Weeds are springing up like crazy! I am always amazed at what a little rain does for the plants.

  4. Jane says:

    Happy happy joy joy! I hope that this is the first of many rains to come your way.

  5. zonnah says:

    Woot! I am so happy for you. You can come steal our rain whenever you want 😛

Leave a Reply

