Making Panjacks (pancake flapjack) or is it Flapcake?

Panjack! That was a typo as I was writing up this post and I decided I liked it. Panjacks!     I like Flapcake too. They both just work!

We don’t have pancakes very often, but I have kept my eyes open for some good basic homemade recipes. A few years ago I received a recipe from a friend for her grandpa’s pancake recipe. I made them, they were good, I wasn’t blogging at the time, so no photos.

Then Jane over at Hard Work Homestead posted a recipe back in February for her flapjacks. YUM!

Making Pancakes

For Jane’s recipe you are basically mixing up a large batch of the dry ingredients, then using the “mix” as you want to make pancakes. I decided to cut her recipe in half, cook up the pancakes and then stash some in the freezer (after we ate ours of course). We have a house guest right now, so it will be nice to pull out some of them out while he is here. That is if they stay around the house long enough in the morning to sit and eat breakfast. They always seem to grab granola bars and dash out of here to get to work on the airplanes. Maybe I will just re-heat some of them for myself!

Jane’s Multi-Grain Flapjacks

  • 8 cups of mixed fresh ground flour (whole wheat, barley, corn, spelt, etc.)        (Jane always makes one cup of her flour oatmeal.)
  • 1/4  – 2/3 cup Sugar (optional)
  • 8 tsp Baking Powder
  • 4 tsp Baking Soda
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • buttermilk or milk powder 1 cup (optional)
  • nuts, berries (what ever you want)
  • Yogurt or Milk (what ever you want to mix with)

You are mixing this to a consistency that works for you. I used yogurt and milk. I left the mixture thick at first and the first few pancakes were quite thick and had a nice rise to them. Then I thinned out the batter by adding more milk and those pancakes came out nice too.

Cooling pancakes

I am happy to have a great recipe that I can make at home. Thanks Jane!

I am also happy to have some panjacks in the freezer. I think there is enough for 2-3 hungry guys to eat for breakfast one day.

*I am on the lookout for a good homemade hot cocoa recipe. If any of you have one and want to share it, I look forward to trying it. I did find a recipe for Gingerbread Hot Cocoa. however, the temps need to cool down here a bit before I give it a try.

Sincerely, Emily

P.S. Susy just posted her hot chocolate recipe over at Not Dabbling in Normal a few days ago. Go check it out. There is nothing more simple than milk and chocolate heated.

This entry was posted in Food, Homemade and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Making Panjacks (pancake flapjack) or is it Flapcake?

  1. Dani says:

    Yum – now I’m hungry – thanks! We call them flapjacks here 🙂

  2. Jane says:

    Glad you liked them, but I better come over and try them out. You know, just to be sure 😉 Panjack or flapcake, hum that is a tough one. I like them both!

    • Hi Jane. Thanks for the recipe. I really liked them. Stop by when you are in the neighborhood, that would be quite the road trip, but you are welcome! I am leaning towards panjack!

  3. zonnah says:

    I am going to have to try this one. The mix I currently make to have on hand, is not that good.

  4. Pingback: Blooming right now: Esperanza or Yellow Bells (tecoma stans) | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

