Stuffed Peppers

I will admit that I don’t particularly like green bell peppers. I should clarify that statement. I like eating them, I just don’t like burping up their flavor afterwards over and over (sorry, probably too much information there.) With that said, if I were to come to your house and you were to serve something with green peppers, I wouldn’t bat an eye, I would eat it.

I do like other bell peppers: red, yellow, orange. I think they are just more mild in flavor and after-affects.

I have mentioned in other posts that I have a “contract” with my neighbor for him to grow Anaheim Chile peppers for me. He grows them along with green bell peppers every year, so I asked if he would grow some for me too.

When ever I go over there, I always check the peppers and wind up coming home with many of the Anaheim peppers and some of his green bell peppers too, some of which have turned red already on the bush.  My husband likes green peppers so I chop them up and add them to a lot of things for him. I also chop up and freeze some of them to use later.

A few days ago I browned up some venison burger and cooked up a pot of rice. I combined the two and added garlic and onion to it.  It was a quick meal with a nice big side salad. Many times I will add a ton of vegetables to the venison/rice, but I didn’t this time. I had some of the venison/rice mixture left over and I had several green and red peppers sitting on the counter so I decided to stuff the peppers for dinner.

The peppers were on the small side, but it was nice to have a way to use them up. I started by putting some venison/rice mixture in the bottom of the baking dish. I figured that would help the peppers stand up easier since they were all kind of lopsided (they still taste the same, just don’t stand up on end).

Ready to go into the oven

I started by putting some shredded cheese into the bottom of each pepper. I then added the venison/rice mixture, pressing down to get more in each pepper. I finished by topping them the cheese, pressing again.

Baked stuffed peppers

Even with all the pressing and stuffing, the contents still settled down in each pepper as they baked.

My husband enjoyed them and there was enough to send with him for lunch the next day. As I was putting the last two away, I decided I would try them. I must say…I liked them.

I will make these again. I know traditional stuffed peppers have a tomato sauce in them and I imagine many of them are made with ground sausage.  This was just my spur-of-the-moment stuffed peppers and it worked with me.

Next time, since the stuffing ingredients are all pre-cooked, I will take the peppers out a bit early and add some more stuffing (if I have time or remember.) With the baking dish “lined” with venison/rice mixture, we had enough food. No one went away hungry!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Homemade, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stuffed Peppers

  1. Dani says:

    Looks yummy.

    S’funny – I, too, can’t eat green peppers (nor cucumbers) without the “wind” effect, but red, yellow and orange peppers- no problem.

  2. Green and red are my favourites – I don’t think yellow or orange look so good when they’re chopped up and cooked. This dish look really lovely! I’d certainly devour a couple of those.

    • The pepper colors are so pretty. Right now most of the jalapenos out on the bush are all red. I sure can see them easier out there now and I know they are mature and ready to pick.

  3. 1 pound ground venison pound ground pork
    cup cooked rice
    2 garlic cloves minced
    cup grated onion
    teaspoon garlic salt
    teaspoon salt
    1/8 teaspoon pepper
    2 eggs
    5 to 6 medium green bell peppers
    2 cups tomato sauce
    1 bay leaf
    Mix venison pork rice garlic onion salts pepper and eggs in bowl.

  4. Pingback: SSFC: Stuffed Peppers – #4 | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

